I am a frickin' STEWARD OF GONDOR!!! Now where did I park my giant eagle...

in #curation7 years ago

A huge thank you to @fulltimegeek for delegating 5000 SP to me and making me one of his Stewards of Gondor! Visit the link to learn more about this amazing initiative from one of the really awesome people on this platform, and please give @fulltimegeek your support in the form of upvotes and resteems! Any reward you can give @fulltimegeek will be put to good use.



Seal of the Stewards of Gondor

@fulltimegeek is really setting a tremendous example by delegating out the vast majority of his (large) stake and asking nothing in return but that the SP is used for the good of the platform. I only wish more of the major investors in Steem understood or cared that leasing their SP to vote selling services, while undeniably a great way to make a short-term profit, is terrible for the long term health of the platform!

I am now trailing the @carlgnash vote behind the @r-bot and @humanbot curation trails on steemauto.com. I have set my vote to wait 5 minutes before trailing, so if you sign up to follow either of those curation trails you will get some curation reward when my vote comes in behind you. For the most part, I do my curating with those accounts so @carlgnash will mostly just be used to back up the curation I am doing through @r-bot and @humanbot.

Follow the @r-bot curation trail to:

  • Support good undervalued content (subjectively determined by a team of 6 manual curators including myself)
  • Support good commenting/commenters
  • Support good posting by Minnow Support Project members (@rougebot heads up the MSP support side of the @r-bot voting; @rougebot is a Jr. Mod on PAL / MSP Discord)

Follow the @humanbot curation trail to support truly original and creative posting awarded a Badge of Originality through the Human Certified Original Works Initiative

Check out @humanbot's step-by-step tutorial on following a curation trail on steemauto.com if you need help.

Much love - Carl " Lord of Minas Tirith" Gnash

Sort:  

Hi @carlgnash I am somewhat new-ish to Steemit but I have read his post and yours. Essentially what do Stewards do?

Sure the "Steward of Gondor" label is just a fancy term for "Someone who @fulltimegeek delegated SP to because he thinks they are a good curator". So the Stewards are all curators, and @fulltimegeek analyzes their voting patterns each week and ranks them according to a metric he has devised - he brings on new stewards (like moi) from time to time and gives some the axe from time to time (his words!) based on the rankings. BTW "curator" is one of those terms bandied around here that may not be self-explanatory, so in a nutshell, a curator is someone who hunts down good undervalued posts and then promotes them, through their own upvote and/or resteem or sometimes in the service of a curation organization. I myself am a (top) @curie curator, and I also started two curation "organizations" (loosely defined - these are more a collection of friends) namely @r-bot and @humanbot. Hopefully that cleared things up but if my flailing around has only muddied the water, let me know! Love your posting by the way :) You rock! Cheers - Carl

2nd reply here - just realized that I neglected to mention the most obvious detail about the "Stewards of Gondor" title which is that this is a fictional title from the fictional Middle Earth world that J.R.R. Tolkien immortalized in The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The Stewards of Gondor were originally advisors to the King of Gondor, but when the line of kings failed the stewards became the rulers as they were authorized to make judgements on the king's behalf in his absence. A long line of stewards had been rulers by the time of the Lord of the Rings timeline. I referred to myself as a "Lord of Minas Tirith" in my sign out because Minas Tirith is the city that the stewards ruled from.

Incidentally I think it is an awesome choice of names by @fulltimegeek. He has in a very real sense given up his most concrete power here - his Steem Power - and has delegated its use and the responsibility for that use to his "stewards". I think this is a wise move. No matter how incredibly engaged one person is, they cannot engage with as many people as a legion of stewards. By analyzing the voting behavior of the stewards he delegates to he keeps everyone focused on good voting behavior - he penalizes self voting and rewards the number of unique authors upvoted to discourage "circle jerk" style vote circles where people just pass upvotes back and forth between the same small group and don't help new authors.

While @fulltimegeek may not be making money from his Steem Power as he could if he upvoted with it himself and got the curation rewards from doing so, he is doing a LOT for the overall health of the platform and of course by extension the long term prospects of his substantial investment (USD $600,000+ value in @fulltimegeek account). I just wish more of the major investors used their power so wisely. Honored to call him my king now LOL

Thanks for taking the time to explain. This is such a worthy cause and now I see why the name "Stewards of Gondor". Such a fitting name. I mean, I would have called you guys rockstars but.. :)

No matter how incredibly engaged one person is, they cannot engage with as many people as a legion of stewards

I agree 100%. Can't wait to go through the list of content that the stewards find.
Have a great one & talk soon.

Ha ha you can call me rock star :) Love - Carl

My Dude is gonna sunshine now ;]

Yes! I am a F*&#ING SUNSHINE!!!

good job dad.

One of the great things about multiple people having access to the @r-bot posting keys is my own kid surprises me sometimes :)

Congrats!


Lots of great curators on that list. Power that @humanbot

Did you do the ritual?

awesome. So... no not yet... will get on this right away!

welcome to the guild. . .wait, you have an eagle? i did'nt get one in my starter pack ;)

You have to whistle for it ;)

whenever i do that i get the wrong kind of birds show up. i think i have a broken whistle ;)

You put it to good use, deserve it!

You are next level!!!!!!!!

Welcome to the Stewards of Gondor. It is an honour and privilege to have you join the team!

Lord of Minas Tirith. Good to see you're making huge progress on supporting the platform. Someone out there could always use a bit more of help from people who have the community's interest close to their hearts.

Walk on!

PS; How do I get to walk in your shoes?

Hi @pangoli nice to see you here and elsewhere recently on this great blockchain :) I can honestly say I think you are well on your way, buddy! My typical advice for people when they ask how to generate more engagement and to grow here on this platform is to not neglect being a good commenter and reader while focusing on posting. In your case, you are already doing a wonderful job of commenting thoughtfully and often - in my experience this is exactly what to do to build that community and network of people here that care about you and want to see you succeed. Keep it up my friend - you have won another follower today :) Much love - Carl

Thank you Sir, I'm honoured, to say the least. Hope to do more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66