Open Mic Week 56 - "Four Directions" (original song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I used to play this song with a band, and in the process of sharing it with my bandmates the title of the song evolved. I originally wrote the lyric (and title) as "For Directions" (i.e. "... searching for directions"). Our drummer (and good friend of mine, the terrifically talented Emily West) came up with a beautiful harmony part to sing and we performed the song as a duet. The first time I wrote the name of the song on a set list, "For Directions", Emily said, "Huh? Don't you mean 'Four Directions', F-O-U-R? I always pictured someone looking to the four winds." This blew my mind and then and there the lyric and song title became "Four Directions" ("...searching four directions"). Of course, to the listener it all sounds the same. But the intention and meaning is very different. This is no longer a song about someone totally lost, searching for directions. This is someone who is already searching the four directions. Thank you for that, Emily.

Stand in the place where you were, now face north. The cardinal directions tie you to the body of the earth and the arc of the sun in the sky. Keep searching.

Lyrics after the video. As always, please remember to visit the Open Mic Week 56 Contest Page and upvote it as well as checking out the other amazing entries! Every week Open Mic just gets cooler and cooler. Give your love to @luzcypher and @pfunk as well for making the whole thing happen - and a huge thank you to all the judges for the monumental task of listening to all this madness every week and making sense out of it! Love you all!

Four Directions - lyrics

Did you imply I had the right of free passage?

Words can't convey
They betray
True Meaning

You want to know why, and you want to know how -

Searching four directions

With our heads to the sky
and a calm demeanor

Words slip away
and the night replaces

You want to know why, and you want to know how -

Searching four directions

A prologue through tears


I was brought to tears typing this post. Typing the intro brought back a flood of memories of the band I was in, and the painful way it all ended as our rhythm section divorced legally and in practice, separating and ending a civil union as well as a musical union that had endured many years. Bass player (and one of my best friends) Carter Soles moved to the east coast to teach film studies with his new PhD; drum player (and one of my best friends) Emily West remained here to sink her roots deeper into Eugene and eventually marry an amazing guy who I play D&D with now - they have a beautiful son together.

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

Beautiful journey through the Travel Of Thought. Absolutely love the flowing high vibes of this; provoking yet so serene. Awesome Sauce!

Thanks for the wonderful compliment. "Serene" is a very apt description for this one I think, and perfectly describes the mindstate it puts me in when I play it. Glad that came through for you. Cheers - Carl

Bands can never be drama free... but I relate to your pain... its a great tune, I can't help but to think of Phish a little bit...

Much success bro

Waiting for the extended intro to finalize and the vocals to commence was quite worth the wait. An awesome song, with an even more awesome history and meaning... This was fantastic, Carl!

There's something about this song that I really like! I can see how a harmony vocal could be really magical, this is the kind of song that harmonies add a lot to. A bit in the vein of Crosby, Stills, and Nash.

carry on............

This is a nice tune.

I'm in a band right now, so I'm hoping the same fate does not befall us. Thank you for sharing your experience and the song that came out of it. It sounds like you made some great music together.

I enjoyed this very much, and I hope there will be more in the future. Also, big thanks for pointing me to the writing contest on MSP today.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carlgnash to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

another BEEEAAAUUTIFUL track Carl. You are magic. Sorry to hear of the heartbreak that befell your friends and subsequently the band....when it still brings back tears you know what truly special times you have lived through. We are all honoured to have loved even for a moment :) x

Man band drama always sucks especially when you feel like you've found a magical connection with people. You always find it again though. Best of luck with open mic :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49