🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 48 - Green Light (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

Thanks to last week's Steemit Open Mic showcase, my reputation score jumped up 6 points in just one day! This was a direct result of my first entry last week: Angel Michael In This Moment. Thank you so much to @luzcypher, and thanks to all of the kind and generous supporters of live music.


We have a nightly routine of singing bedtime songs with our kids. It's one of my favorite experiences in life, calling me to be a better musician, and a better man. Some nights, the kids sing along with us. Most nights, they doze off peacefully, with the pleasant thoughts of angels–at least that's our intention. I'm grateful for the kids' cooperation tonight. And I'd like to thank my wife and partner in life, @wildfamily, for operating the camera.

Green Light

What's the story behind this song?

Tonight's song is newly received, just a few weeks ago. In my understanding, Raphael is a healing angel. We sing to this angel in instances where our health and well-being could be improved. This past week, we've felt the effects of weakened immune systems, possibly related to Hurricane Harvey. Just a thought. We live in Austin, Texas, where we experienced violent storms, power outages, water shutoff...

Anyhow, we say this angel's name with an "H" sound, because that's how it's pronounced in Brazilian Portuguese–this is where a lot of my personal spiritual belief system is based from. Usually, we sing it straight through as you hear here, and then we sing it a second time with one change: We substitute "Golden Light" for "Green Light" the second time. Just keeping it simple tonight, I guess.

Will you let me know what you think of this song?

Rosalie loves our nighttime singing routine. She usually requests a song called I Bloom, which I aim to share here one day.

Gabriel, who is of course named after Angel Gabriel, had a bit of difficulty relaxing tonight.

Here's a version of this song I recorded last week.

Once again, here's the Angel Raphael marker sketch I drew a few weeks ago.

Angel Raphael marker sketch

Quick Note: I am a filmmaker with a passion for spirituality, currently studying angels. If you or someone you know has an angel experience to share, please be in touch with me. I'm assembling a new documentary film. And I'm beginning to use the Steemit tag #angels, because I hope to start a dialogue here, in case you're interested. Thanks!


@cabelindsay

Sort:  

Totally loved the family setting and the meaning behind the song... Another good one brother!

Thank you. It feels really good to connect with the kids this way at the end of every day.

@cabelindsay I think this is a great thing you do with your kids. A special time that will shape them.

I thought I would play them a little song to help them sleep tonight :)

Your friend,
Bucky

Oh my! You are a treasure. Thank you, brother. Heart explosion over here. 😂


Left to right: Rosalie, Cabe, Gabriel, and Daniel

There they are :)) Hello to you all! Sending love from Newfoundland.
Cheers my new friends
Bucky

Jeeze, you really are a friend. Thank you for gifting my family and I with your friendship. We think you're the bees' knees. And we have a lullaby to share with you one day soon.

Hi, I'm Kat, @cabelindsay's partner. I want you to know how precious this is to all of us. Our home with love and lightness, thanks to you and your music. Heart-felt thanks to you today, sweet man.

My pleasure :)

Seems random, buddy. Any explanation of this?

Good job babe. Just look at these three precious children. The angels are with us for sure.

Congratulations @cabelindsay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Such a pleasure. And of course I'm thankful to play another round of Steemit Open Mic.

Fantastic !!! I love this @cabelindsay . You're a fantastic musician and DAD!!!!
Keep up the great work :)

Right on! Thank you so much. I'm learning, and happy to be growing together with my family.

That's a beautiful way you have there. Reminds me a lot of how it was with my parents... even if that was decades ago, one never forgets that!

Happy to hear you had a childhood like this. Thank you. It feels so good to share this sweet time with the kids. We live a very humble and wonderful existence right now.

Looks like your kids really enjoy the warm, cozy and loving environment. They are very lucky :-)

I think I'm the lucky one. Thank you, brother.

Congratulations @cabelindsay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a lovely song, Cabe! You have such a beautiful family.

Thank you, sister. I sure appreciate you, you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47