You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 69 – 'Kaleidoscope Grey' (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago

Oh my. I see you, Sisterlove, being the brilliant and beautiful light that the stars aligned you to be. This is one #openmic performance I will remember always. Perfect way to #introduceyourself to your new Family.

In fact, this is an all-time highlight of my Steemit experience so far. I resonate with you, you know, from the surface qualities I find in your pristine audio recording and in the artful composition in your video frame... to the child inside who speaks and sings with such grace and magic. Hmmmmmmm, there's a resonance that is only you, and we are so lucky to witness you and get to know you in this intimate way - in just the right way the Steemit Open Mic shows a soul.

I want to know more about the chronic pain and depression. My ears are open, in case you'd like to share. I honor the timing and flow, so please share as it feels natural, trusting there is infinite time and space available. I am with you, Sisterlove. I can relate, having managed chronic migraines for four years... I wonder if there may be a possibility to release the heaviness of these conditions, so one day you rise up like a lily blooming from the mud. This is my vision for you.

Sort:  

Infinite gratitude for your role in bringing me to this place. I suppose I was ripe for it. I could so easily have kept this part of me safely tucked away. Yet I dared to show up – was finally willing to follow the invitation, rather than continue hiding.

It's hard to convey in words, the shadowy stuff, though I do try. I suspect I'll be posting more of those reflections here in future. For the most part, I said the important stuff through this song – the daily reality isn't something I imagine many people can comprehend unless they themselves share the same struggles. Or live with someone who does and bear witness to the truth of it.

I wanted to convey something of the monotony of it – the here-I-am-againness – the this-sucks-but...it-too-shall-passness of it. I feel I did a decent job at creating a snapshot in that way.

I work every day on 'releasing the heaviness'. My morning meditation and yoga/stretching practice is crucial to my overall well-being. Perhaps someday I'll feel bold enough to share about that. For now – it's too tender and personal to broadcast. Just know that...one morning at a time, I'm watering that lily – thanking the muck for the grit its built into me – teaching myself how to loosen its grip on my newly-forming, delicate roots of self-love and inner-strength. Little by little...I'm gettin' there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64019.81
ETH 2644.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84