You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are There Enough Songwriters On Steemit To Host A Songwriting Contest To Win A New Guitar?

in #openmic7 years ago

Oh yes, I would jump for this! The #openmic has already given me so much enjoyment, keeping the creative juices cooking. There's an abundance of originality in us all, and I imagine it could be very progressive to raise a stage and spotlight for singer-songwriters in this way. One thought I have is the idea of a weekly "prompt" or "theme" that could spur new ideas, while also focusing everyone's contributions as a cohesive unit each week (see the Steemit Culinary Challenge for an example of this). This strategy might ensure that people's songs are truly original, and it also encourages the spirit of innovation. I promise to participate.

Sort:  

@meno mentioned something about possible running it for 4 weeks with a theme each week and as each week progresses the number of finalists would be reduced until we had a winner. Just an idea.

What do you think?

I do like the idea of incentives, as a way of motivating people to participate. So I tend to like the idea of a prize (guitar or whatever) that goes to the winner. But it might be a mistake to eliminate participants through the rounds until there's only one winner remaining, because this type of exclusivity would limit the participation. Plus, art forms like songwriting are so subjective, obviously, and I'd hate to see good songwriters judged and bumped out by bad taste. So, instead of reducing the number of participants, how about tallying up the votes each participant receives week-after-week, and then maybe the one with the most votes wins (or something like that). This could encourage more engagement (that's the goal!), because each week the participant will have the chance to gain more votes. Know what I mean? Yeah, in my mind, the openness of your open mic is one of the keys to is success. It's not only for the elite; it's for all of us, all the time.

Agree with cabe here, I do not like the reducing down so much.

I think it works for big shows on TV like Xf-actor, as there is this rush, of who is going to loose more than who is going to win. Personally, I do not think this concept is very motivational for songwriters and artists. We are not hockey-players or footballers, and we do not really compete with each other. We do not need the other one to loose in order to win.

Great point, yes, I've noticed the same truth among the graphic designers here on Steemit. Artists are lovers, rather than fighters. We're less inclined to compete, and more inclined to create.

Good suggestions. Tallying only the votes though would give those with more followers and those who enter sooner an unfair advantage. For this reason it can't be the only determining factor.

Excellent point! I didn't think of that. Yes, you're right. Hm. I'll give it some more thought. Maybe there's a way to keep the participation up, and possibly even build more and more engagement throughout the event if there are incentives for audience members to return and voice their opinions in favor of one songwriter or another.

That is a really good idea. I'm going to let that thought stew a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61168.42
ETH 2363.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58