Steemit Open Mic Week 43 - Original song "Introverted"

in #openmic7 years ago

Hi Steemians and welcome to my entry for the open mic week 43 competition.

It's a song called "introverted" and it's about me and my shyness.

It may seem difficult to understand how someone who can give a musical performance to a crowd of people, can describe themselves as shy. However, this is the case with me and I'll try and explain what I mean.

When I play guitar and sing I'm in my own little world and it doesn't matter how many people are listening - I don't even notice them. When I finish the song I'm back as myself with all these people looking at me. I clam up and can't think of anything to say for fear of sounding stupid. So I just say "thanks" and sing another song.

I'm also quite introverted around new people I meet and thought writing a song about it might help me.

If anyone has any tips to help overcome this please share with me. Thanks.

So here is the song. Please give it a listen and I hope you enjoy it.

~Lyrics

You know I don't enjoy the smalltalk
I like to conversate with substance
So I sit back, when we chitchat
You know I listen to every one of your problems

Don't take it personal, I'd like to talk
But you know how much I hate phone calls
And it's stressful, when my head’s full of words to say
I guess that a text will do today

And I overthink the little things
I just want to understand
I need someone to be with
Just take my hand

Introverted
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
introverted

don't want to be alone
don't want to feel low
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
introverted

And I relive my bad moments
I really should have thought it over before, we meet
Seems like every week, whenever we speak
It's evidently, I'll be out of my tree

And the drink makes me talk too much, and think much less
And just brings stress to my head
That's why I never want to go to bed
Never want to read those messages that I sent

And I overthink the little things
I just want to understand
I need someone to be with
Just take my hand

Introverted
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
introverted

don't want to be alone
don't want to feel low
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
introverted

And I overthink just about everything
And I worry too much about the little things
And I'm hopeless at noticing those signs you give
I just need someone to be with

Introverted
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
introverted

don't want to be alone
don't want to feel low
you make me feel so
you make me feel so
introverted

Don't want to be alone
don't want to feel low

Music and lyrics by @branhmusic (Brandon Hill)

Click the link below to read more about joining
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-43-record-your-performance-on-your-phone-enter-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Sort:  

Great lyrics! Is that a 3/4 scale guitar you're playing?

Thanks. It's a baby Taylor, which I love. Small and light but still with a good sound and great for taking busking or to open mic nights.

I recently sold some of my electric guitar stuff to buy a full size Taylor. Even though the full size ultimately has better sound I still prefer playing the baby.

Nice. Upped and followed. I can definitely relate. I sometime wonder if my own introversion is partly the reason I enjoy putting myself out there creatively. It's a way of communicating in a pre-meditated way. It's also less demanding than a conversation happening in real time. For example, I tend to make lots of jokes during group conversations. That probably makes me seem extroverted. But I often do it because I'm constantly trying to relive the tension I feel from a social situation.

Glad you liked my music. Cheers buddy. You have some Interesting thoughts on how people deal with shyness. Thanks for commenting.

Upvoted!

Cheers buddy.

Thanks buddy.

Amazing song... I love the energy you put into your music... Great groove man.

Peace !!!

Thanks Man. Pleased you enjoyed it.

Loading...

Great tune buddy! It's got a sound similar to "The Kooks" which I love by the way. Great job man

That's great praise. Thanks buddy.

Every word of this song, @branhmusic, I relate to. So good.

I am very much enjoying your original music that you're bringing to the platform. I've been following your tunes for a bit now, but I think this is my first time commenting.

Love the quality of the content you bring to us, and love this original music so much. Keep it coming, man.

Completely Excellent. :)

Glad you are enjoying my music. Its good to know other people relate to my feelings I put in the words of this song. Thanks.

oh wow with the exception of hand holding I'm very much like this. when I do talk I say what I need to say and then I'm stuck for what more to say to keep topics going in person but online I'm like a totally different person more open kinda :) thanks for sharing and good luck

Thank you for sharing too. Great people can be held back by lack of confidence due to shyness. Lets hope we both can learn to overcome this. Cheers man.

@branhmusic - Dude, you are so good... You've got a great style and ability to compose to suit yourself quite nicely!

Cheers mate. Pleased you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49