Steemit Open Mic Week 115 - Candy

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


https://unsplash.com/photos/zMVt3FgSMd4


Hi everyone! I haven't done an open mic in a while... This song is from my new daily dtube vlog, HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE. Each day I try to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by a random word generator (https://wordcounter.net/random-word-generator), a viewer suggestion, or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite. On Saturdays viewers can vote on which they'd like to see made into a full fledged song (it's only half an hour, the furthest I usually get each day is a verse or two and (though not always) a chorus). On Sundays I finish the most voted song and post it. This week there were two, so I decided to make an exception and upload one to YouTube as well as Dtube, so as to share it with the open mic community :)


CANDY


She looks delicious
But is she nutritious
Or just another sugar rush?

She looks so sweet good enough to eat
But too much could be dangerous

'Cause if you get too high then you crash too fast
And you end up shaking
Craving one fix after another it's
Hard to get a good look
Once you're hooked
So think before you kiss her
Have you assessed the risk here?
No

Oh just let her put you in a coma
You know you know you wanna
Go!

Candy
Candy
She melts in your mouth
Do not exceed the recommended daily amount
She makes your heart beat way too fast
Which is exactly the right speed
Oh Candy you're all
I need

The sweet innocence of youth
You bite off more than you can chew
But once you start you don't want to stop

So brace yourself boy
She's not a toy
Even when you've got her spinning like a top

'Cause when you fly too high you never want to come down
Then it's fix to fix
One thing leads to another
Pretty soon you're hitching rides
On dragonflies
Out across the universe
Did you stop to think first?
No

'Cause she's so sweet you want to scream
You're a kid
It's Halloween
And she's

Candy
Candy
She melts in your mouth
Do not exceed the recommended daily amount
She makes your heart beat f-f-f-fast
And that's exactly the right speed
Oh Candy you're all
I need

And it's fix to fix
Treats or tricks
You can sleep when you're dead
Let's go to bed

'Cause it's never enough
No such thing as too much
Of a good thing and
You know what's good?

Oh you know what's good?

It's
Candy
Candy
She melts in your mouth
Do not exceed the recommended daily amount
She makes your heart beat way too fast
And that's exactly the right speed
Oh Candy you're all
I need

This is your brain on

Candy
Candy
She melts in your mouth
Do not exceed the recommended daily amount
She makes your heart beat f-f-f-fast
And that's exactly the right speed
Oh Candy you're all
I need

©2018 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved


image.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png


https://i.imgur.com/vd1KDi

Sort:  

Awesome idea using that tool to get a random word... =)

Hi Siomara! Thank you, feel free to use it if you like :)

That is an ambitious challenge you set for yourself!!
And I had no idea that there was a daily recommended amount of candy LOL

Lol yes... I seem to be in the habit of doing that. It's hugely fun for me tho... For today's episode I will be using the freewrite prompt!

Posted using Partiko Android

lol yeah the RDA for candy! I think I made that up...

Actually I think the RDA for candy is probably zero...

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha - I think so too

I'm clearly not eating enough Candy. Great song! Thanks.

lol I know I'm not! Thanks I'm glad you liked it :D

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.172 which ranks you at #8789 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 192 places in the last three days (old rank 8981).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #170.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This is amazing!!

Thanks @jasonrussell! I'm glad you liked it. Was just taking a look at your photography, truly beautiful stuff :)

Thanks so much man!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42