OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 7 - In the Right Place by @bennettitalia

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

So this week I ended up with 2 songs about right place/right time. What's interesting to me about these songs is that each seems to be giving exactly the opposite advice. One says: "go for it!", the other says: "no way!" It's a bit like the cartoons where somebody has a devil on one shoulder, and an angel on the other.

Except I'm not sure which is which 😅

So I'm entering one in the Songwriters' Challenge, and the other in Open Mic. The one featured here is called "In the Right Place". The other, in Open Mic, is called "Tangled". Here is a link: https://steemit.com/openmic/@bennettitalia/open-mic-week-67-tangled-an-original-song-by-bennettitalia

This recording is the first take I did. It's not the tightest rendition, but I liked the rawness of it, so I used it.

Boundless thanks to all those involved in the open mic and songwriters' challenge, I can't thank you guys enough. This is SO much fun!!!

As an aside, if anyone has any opinions on which is the devil and which is the angel, I'd love to hear them!!!

Also: if anyone commenting to this post is a musician submitting entries to Open Mic, please link them for me in your comments? I'd love to hear what you are doing too!

IN THE RIGHT PLACE

You're just you
I'm just me
There's nothing more
Here to see

You're over there
And I'm over here
Just a girl and a boy
Acting awkward and weird

But in the right place
At the right time
We could be so much more than you and I
We could be so much more then the sum of our parts
So much more than just two pieces of a broken heart

In the right place

So what if I like you
More than you know?
What if you like me too?
If it begins to show?

Love can be so inconvenient
But you're too beautiful
And if you look at me like that again
I might forget my self control

But in the right place
At the right time
We could be so much more than you and I
We could be so much more then the sum of our parts
So much more than just two pieces of a broken heart

In the right place

Oh but this isn't the place it isn't the time
To make a move now could ruin lives
Better off leaving well enough alone
And alone is how I feel when I see him in your arms

But You're just you
I'm just me
There's nothing more
Here to see

You're over there
And I'm over here
Just a girl and a boy
Acting awkward and weird

In the right place
At the right time
We could be so much more than you and I
We could be so much more then the sum of our parts
So much more than just two pieces of a broken heart

In the right place

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @rougebot from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

excellent bennetti! I like how your guitar sounds, you have agile hands for music! and in your lyrics I like to feel that I'm missing a great story, I feel you tell a fantastic story in the style of Latin singer Ricardo Arjona, and that's nice. I like this, greetings!

Thank you for your kind feedback @elisonr13! I'm very glad you liked it. I will have to look up Ricardo Arjona now :D

wow... he is good. Thanks for the comparison :)

This was so sweet.

The feel kinda reminded me of Garfunkle and Oats (the comedy lady duo).

I really like how you come back to the chorus almost like a full stop.

Now to listen to the other one... We'll see who's the devil yet!😈

Hah! She accepted the challenge! I can pretty much always count on you to pick up a thrown gauntlet Carrie ❤ Thank you for playing, can't wait to hear your verdict :D

I like this :O i wanna play guitar and singing at the same time like you do XD hahahaha i like your voice <3

Thanks! Really glad you enjoyed it:)

I saw that you have an entry as well, looking forward to checking it out. BTW I'm putting out a request to other musicians to post links to their latest submissions in their comments on my posts, if that's something you feel like doing in future, so I can find your stuff more easily.

Wow! Just checked out your entry. Beautiful.

yeah you nailed it dude..... fantastic progression, lyrics & performance. Bravo Maestro.

Thanks @gibber! I really appreciate the support! Glad you liked it :)

Hey just found your entry, beautifully done man! That's not an easy song to pull off IMO because you really need to have the emotional presence in the vocal, which you delivered (seemingly) effortlessly.

BTW I'm putting out a request to other musicians to post links to their latest submissions in their comments on my posts, if that's something you feel like doing in future, so I can find your stuff more easily.

Resteemed and following :)

Nice performance. There's a real intimate quality to this take. Love it. Great song, man.

Thanks @luzcypher! I just couldn't get away from this version, even tho some of the others were more polished. Glad you liked it :)

Hey Bennett - I'm about to listen to your entry right now and was wondering if you could post the lyrics... Thanks, brother! I'm so glad that you're having so much fun with this just like the rest of us... I'm really enjoying your music!

Oh and btw... the "msp" lead in the http address was kinda funky insofar as allowing me to make this comment without "signing-in." So I just opened the steemit.com version to avoid all the hassle....

Done! Sorry I missed this earlier @passion-ground, dinnertime here for me and my 11 year old :) Here they are, hope you enjoy it :)

Also, thanks so much for your encouragement and support, I'm glad you're enjoying my entries!

aaand... sorry about the msp thing... should I not do that?

Doesn't really matter, I suppose - I just thought I'd point out the difficulty I had commenting from that link is all... Perhaps other people might have the same difficulty, which implies the likelihood of fewer comments on your post is all... That's all really... It's up to you how you wish to post...

Thank you for the lyrics!

Right, that makes sense. Hmm... I'll have to think about that, thanks for the feedback!

ah, just realized I could use the steemit.com link in the comments to open mic post, and use msp in the actual post! Took me a while to catch on lol.

this is a very competent song! great performance dude :)

Thanks man! Glad you enjoyed it :)

Hey, I'm putting out a request to other musicians to post links to their latest submissions in their comments on my posts, if that's something you feel like doing in future, so I can find your stuff more easily. Looking forward to checking out your new song as soon as our interwebs gets fixed and I'm no longer pirating off the neighbor's slow ass network XD

hehe. poor you, slow internet is so torturous! I have a pretty slow connection out here in the norfolk countryside.....Its a good idea you've had about posting links in each others comments, Im never sure whether people ind that sort of thing offensive or not, so its cool that youre opening your doors to it! heres my latest one for the songwriters challenge: https://steemit.com/openmic/@basilmarples/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-7-the-right-place-and-or-the-right-time

Thanks Basil! The neighbor's net is speeding up suddenly so I had a chance to listen to your entry, and honestly loved it. Beautifully done :)

thankyou so much dude! I really appreciate your feedback on it :) One day we will have to get better internet connections right!? hehe

No doubt! So frustrating. It's working better now tho, I can actually surf the site and listen to stuff. So much good work on here.

Life has happened and it looks like I won't get the open mic song out 'til tomorrow morning. Link will be here for compare and contrast ;)

This post touched botty's mechanical humanly heart, and you are selected to feature in the @Rougebot's Curation post Link here.

Well Done Human, join this bot and other humans in this Discord Server for MSP [Minnow Support Project]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93