OPEN MIC WEEK 13 - A song in IRISH :)

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

This week I decided to sing my #openmic song in Irish. There have been just a few requests to do another post on the Irish language and if I have some more I will keep it up, so let me know what you think of it :)

Click here to listen to the English lyrics version of this
Or click here for the Irish one I'm singing :)


The lyrics of the Irish version are slightly different to the lyrics of the English one. Often when translating a song from English to Irish (or other languages) there's some loss in the rhythm of the lyrics. Here are the lyrics below of the English version.

Falling Slowly

by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová

I don't know you
But I want you
All the more for that
Words fall through me
And always fool me
And I can't react
And games that never amount
To more than they're meant
Will play themselves out

Take this sinking boat and point it home
We've still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
You'll make it now

Falling slowly, eyes that know me
And I can't go back
Moods that take me and erase me
And I'm painted black
You have suffered enough
And warred with yourself
It's time that you won

Take this sinking boat and point it home
We've still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
You've made it now

Falling slowly sing your melody
I'll sing it loud

I paid the cost too late
Now you're gone..

Irish Lyrics

Ní aithním thú,
ach teastaíonn tú
uaim níos mó dá bharr.
Tá mo bhriathra
'dhéanamh grinn dom,
ní fhéadaim tada a rá
Cluichí 's cleasanna nach
gciallaíonn tada ach
a imíonn tharainn mar cheo.

Tabhair an bád atá fós ar snámh
abhaile slán gan mhoill;
Glór is dóchas, tá rogha fós ann,

(A)nois, táir slán a chroí.

Grá dom leonadh, súil is eol dom,
níl aon dul ar ais;

Dallann gruaim is brón mo stuaim,
is Braithim dubh ar fad.
Ach, go d'fhulaing tú go leor,
is throid tú leat féin,
(A)nois, tuilleann tú(an) bua.

*Tabhair an bád atá fós ar snámh
abhaile slán gan mhoill;
*Glór is dóchas, tá rogha fós ann,
(A)nois, táir slán a chroí

Grá dom leonadh can do cheol a chroí
Canfad go h-ard!

D’íoc mise as rómhall..
Níl sé ann..


Sort:  

Nice one Beanz! It opened my eyes to how beautiful Irish songs are!! Hope you and @demotruk had a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

Nice! It seemed as if the song meant a lot to you.

Nice one! Happy New Year @beanz

Great song, and great performance. I remember watching this movie...I was like WOW...and then I watched it again haha.

I love it so much ! I love the platonic relationship and how it doesn't end in the cliché way we all expect it to and too many people want it to lol.

I like to see you happy! :D

So glad you didn't quit. We wouldn't have ever heard that... and that would have sucked! Lol (If we knew what we'd missed in a parallel universe? uhhhmm...)
Anyway... Thanks. I really enjoyed listening. I look forward to more! :)

I can't promise that I am here to stay. There is a lot of opposition against what steemsports is doing to the system and to the community but people are afraid to voice an opinion that whales don't like because we are getting used to getting flagged for that and losing reputation.

If steemit is to become a platform where people can be silenced by the power holders then we are not a censorship resistant platform. Realistically only Dan and Ned can fix this but they won't do that unless they see volumes of opposition against the vote gaming abuse. So far only a few of us have been brave while most of us are too scared. I can't stay in a community where the crooked are powered up and the minnows just play along helping them. We won't survive if the power holders are those who sensor us.

After Furion announced that change in the model steemsports announced there will be no change. They will continue to accept votes as bets.

I didn't know about an issue with steemsports. I will refrain from voting them up. Lots of other stuff on here worth votes. I'm not a "sports guy"... I didn't realize there was an issue. I read their post after your objection... and still don't get it. I think I'll just avoid them. I believe in "no stress". If something is causing stress, then, if avoidable, it ceases to be part of my world. I'll trust that you have seen something "off" about it that I've missed and avoid it.
I'm no whale, but I hope one more person not feeding them helps your cause! ;)

That was beautiful. I knew a few of the words- I cant remember the last time I heard someone sing in Irish. Nice job!

I also really enjoyed your soft soulful singing, it is full of culture and life and character indeed. Thank you for sharing this musical gem in the Irish language. It was a treat for the ears. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted without a doubt!

@beanz heartfelt!
good luck!

I tried clicking on the video and recieved a error (youtube) couldn't watch it :-(

Seems to be working. What kind of error do you get?

working now ...but definitely was an error message from Youtube (not steemit)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65