OpenMic songwriters Challenge FINALE WEEK 8 - Until we meet again

in #openmic7 years ago

WOOOOOAAAAAHHHH!!!!! Hold the horses! Im here.....gasp.........Im here! Somehow I pushed it to the wire again, but I just COULDN'T NOT finish this marathon of songwriting. CONGRATULATIONS TO EVERYONE who has been in this challenge! I think we all showed just how awesome this steemit songwriting community is, and just what we are CAPABLE of! Pop the champagne and blow a stupid whistle, because we definitely deserve to celebrate our achievement here! I for one have absolutely loved it, its been such a joy to be involved and to hear all the inspired responses to the themes every week, and desperately scrabbling to pull something together each time, and then getting so much love and support from so many lovely people! Long Live the SONGWRITERS!

Anyway, ENOUGH excitable blah! Here is my final entry, you'll notice its slightly out of my vocal register so i could either try to sing slightly too low, or go falsetto, or really strain at the top......I couldn't decide which (none of them feel particularly great) so I just did all three instead! you'll see what I mean:

I was with you in the room
There was nothing left to do
You flew like a dragon through the flames
And now your name will be sung
With every rising of the sun
Until we meet again

Promise me that when I go
You wont be frozen like the snow
You know that I will melt away your pain
We are the same you and I
I will be shining in your sky
Until we meet again

We will meet once again
On some golden summers day
And though the journey may be long
I know we can be strong
Until we meet again

time has played a jokers hand
It locks me in its prison and
then claims to have released me from my chains
but all Ive gained I cannot use
And Ive got so much time to lose
Until we meet again

We will meet once again
On some golden summers day
And thought he journey may be long
I know we will be strong
Until we meet again

GINORMOUS MAGIC APPRECIATION TO EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU
U R Da Bes

Be good to each other, and MUCH LOVE

x Basil

Sort:  

Well... that really went place....

Lots of emotion in this one dude. Really liked the device of using the statement (theme) to close off the verse. No chorus really just a central statement! It was a pretty distinctive write.

yeah, I was quite pleased with that as well....and then when I started writing the repeating part I thought it would be a more distinct chorus but it ended up with that same chord structure as in the verse and the same title line! So that kind of blended it in to the song......you just cant ever know whats genna happen when youre writing a song!
I just listened to your entry and absolutely loved it. The judges HAVE to consider it. Late my ass.
You totally rocked this whole 8 weeks. its been a mega pleasure to be in it from the start with you dude :D big love x

Duude you're the best! I really haven't expected anything even close to this, but you nailed it! Awesome stuff, you should keep it up!
By the way, nice beard ;)

thanks man! haha, glad it exceeded your expectations! The beard is a temporary thing.....I am growing it out for a short film where I am going to play someone famous..... no spoilers yet but I can confirm that this will be reduced to a mustache and sideburns next month.....not that my sideburns are going to be particularly impressive. 1 more clue: he's a musician ;)

Oh man, you got my attention! Can't wait to see ;)

This song genuinely brought a tear to my eye @basilmarples (and not just in sympathy with those high notes!). Beautiful. I've so enjoyed listening to these offerings. Don't stop just cos the contest is over! x

haha....Im surprised I didnt smash any glasses! I actually tried recording it the day before on my dads birthday but my throat got really husky from experimenting with all those notes and I just couldn't get it together. Its all worth it to hear that its touched people. Loads of love x :)

Basil, not bad for a guy who says he's not a songwriter. You got through all 8-weeks brilliantly.

thanks luzy :) Its been great for my confidence. I guess I can't deny being a songwriter now :p

Bravo! This feels like the last number in Act Two of Hippopotamus Tree: The Musical and the next decade's must-do audition song. MDs may curse you but the West End Wendies will throw flowers in your path. Rest now. Rest.

haha. Im glad SOMEONE is putting my musical together! Now that you have revealed your lifes mission to the world, I can honestly say, Im glad that its you Lloyd. Who better to mark the life and times of the hippopotamus tree with an extravagant tragi-comic musical than you? There will be bearded dancers, soaring ukulele numbers, monotone bed conspiracies and a whole host of other Lloydian aspects (Im afraid I stole that term) to add to the mix. Together, we could storm the world.....

This is us, man!

wow I hadn't envisioned it being quite so creepy.....but I can go with it. It might just be a little more off the fringe than west end, but that'll make it easier to budget and we can definitely get away with more

You saved your best for the Finale!
You got me teary again my friend.
Listening to this as I watch the snow falling
Love

thats a lovely image....funny that you of all people should be listening to it in the snow......I feel like we must be swapping psychic energy

Ha Ha !
Perhaps...

That was BEAUTIFUL! soo deep! thank you for writing it! you dad would´ve been SO proud! I lost my grandpa recently... it has been really tough on me... he was like a dad to me. I almost cried hearing your song! . I am in a public place right now.. so i held it in... but i was so close to break...

I admire you SO FREAKING MUCH! i am so glad a met you... you are soo brilliant!

I think it is between you and Austen.. one of you will win the contest!! i know it!!

oh Kat Im sorry to hear that :( It is always so difficult losing important people.....for me it has been years now since my dad died....perhaps that is why I can write and share these songs now! I dont know......so much love to you. This has been a magical challenge with such a wonderful group of people, and you have been one of the greatest! x

Quite a touching, passionate, and personal way to punctuate the end of the challenge, Basil. I very much enjoyed this composition along with the varied vocal ranges you provided therein - despite them being quite the stretch for you.

You've done amazingly well all throughout the challenge, and it most certainly wouldn't have been the same without you. Thank you, my friend!

thanks P.G. Im fairly sure you know exactly how I feel about this challenge and this community by now! Its been a landmark experience in my life, and Im extremely grateful to you for all your support, your work, and your PG tips :) x

Wow, Basil, what an epic way to finish this comp!
It was a pleasure getting to know you!

Brother! this was beautiful!
I hope to hear more music from you soon, even though the challenge is over!
thank you for sharing this with all of us! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56