Steemit Open Mic Week 51: Snuff - Slipknot (Cover)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey there guys!

Here's my cover of Snuff by Slipknot accompanied by my electric Ukulele. This song is one of my all-time favourites. I may have messed up a few times, but it IS a live recording after all :) (I'm still stuck in the stoneage that is South Africa's Internet, hence the 480p quality. It took about thirty minutes to upload an 80MB video).

I really don't know what else to say here, except that I hope I did some justice to this masterpiece of a song. If you would like to hear more of my music (I'm in the process of writing some originals), then please take a look at my SoundCloud here:
https://soundcloud.com/ashleh-raff-8/tracks

Snuff Lyrics:

Bury all your secrets in my skin
Come away with innocence and leave me with my sins
The air around me still feels like a cage
And love is just a camouflage for what resembles rage again

So if you love me, let me go
And run away before I know
My heart is just too dark to care
I can't destroy what isn't there
Deliver me into my fate
If I'm alone, I cannot hate
I don't deserve to have you...
My smile was taken long ago
If I can change, I hope I never know

I still press your letters to my lips
And cherish them in parts of me that savor every kiss
I couldn't face a life without your light
But all of that was ripped apart... when you refused to fight

So save your breath, I will not hear
I think I made it very clear
You couldn't hate enough to love
Is that supposed to be enough?
I only wish you weren't my friend
Then I could hurt you in the end
I never claimed to be a saint...
My own was banished long ago
It took the death of hope to let you go

So break yourself against my stones
And spit your pity in my soul
You never needed any help
You sold me out to save yourself
And I won't listen to your shame
You ran away - you're all the same
Angels lie to keep control
My love was punished long ago
If you still care, don't ever let me know
If you still care, don't ever let me know

Sort:  

I always like to ump-vote ukulele music!!

Nice to meet you, @ashrza! Great Post, ive upvoted you and followed you and i have also sended you a small tip^^, i wish you a great time here and a nice day :D

You have a great voice - nice cover

Congratulations @ashrza! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice spin on a great song, Great voice also. Keep it up!

Hey! Nice one 😊
I cant believe I haven't seen an electric ukulele before... 👌🏻👍🏻

Congratulations @ashrza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ashrza! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50