Open Mic Week 12 - "Simple Simon" - original song by Andy Loughney

in #openmic8 years ago

SImpleSimon-12d8bc.jpg

photo by @anarchrysalis of art by Frank Adams


Hey everyone, here is another original for you called Simple Simon.  Thanks for checking it out and thanks to those who support and facilitate this project!


Simple Simon

(A.Loughney)


I got wind in my eyes

I got hair on my brain

My name is Simple Simon

And I can’t believe the games you put me through

Put me through


Sometimes I show mercy and

Sometimes I take no prisoners

If you complicate my scenery

Then I do believe I won’t be hanging ‘round

Hanging around


I know it’s a simple plan

For a simple man

But enforcement is hard

When my guard is down

‘Cause I’m in love with you

Love with you


I got scars on my teeth

I got no one to blame

If your door is always open

Then how come I’m out here

Standing in the rain

In the rain


Sometimes I plead confusion and

Sometimes I just don’t give a damn

Some say it’s such a shame to be so simple

But it seems that’s how I am

How I am


I know it’s a crying shame

For me to ruin your game

So of course I’ll step back

Thought the lack of context

Skews it even more

Even more


I got dust in my tears

I got pockets of rot

You say that these are things that I should leave

But they’re the only ones I’ve got

Ones I’ve got


Sometimes you can find me and

Sometimes I am invisible

Like the clouds that always creeping

You might find me cloaked around a crescent moon

Crescent moon


I know it’s a risky move

With nothing left to prove

But the force of your stare

Makes it hard to care

That I’m in love with you

Love with you

Sort:  

I like the feel of this one!

Nice job man! - Listening right now.

You are certainly welcome!

Also, where are you at geographically?

Cool man thanks for the heads up! I will see if I can get something together and it may be an excuse for me to just cut loose a bit and mess around with some different instruments!

OK, I figured you were stateside, just curious as to where.

Thanks!

Ya, I need to add a couple more things to my profile page. Have a good day Papa!

you got such a unique sound man. awesome Job!!

thank you so much Mr. Knight. Really, my favorite compliment...Just saw you posted a new song, looking forward to checking it out later today or as time permits this morning!

I really like the whole concept of this song, and the lyrics are very deep and revealing, and by no means simple at all. You outdid yourself with the entire writing process. Very unique and beautiful all the same. I really felt his pain and longing sorrow. Poor simple simon. Thank you for entering with this lyrical masterpiece. The guitar playing is the perfect accompaniment and nice solo section, although I feel you could be a bit more passionate with your singing so the energy you give could transfer and give more to the life of the song. I've heard you give more of your passionate voice to other songs, if you ever record this professionally somewhere, I would suggest give the singing this with all you've got, really open up your diaphragm and see if it translates the energy, intensity, and intention. Other than that, great song. Hope my suggestion/friendly critique is found to be helpful Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted

Hey @verbal-d, I do really appreciate the time and thought you put into your response. I struggle with my singing for sure and feel the least accomplished there. I don't know how to sing from my diaphragm. Any tips about how to access that, i.e. good exercises or websites? I don't know how to even know if I am doing it or not

You're very welcome bro, I'm always trying to help and when my voice recovers in the next couple days, I plan to do some vocal training videos here on Steemit. So be on the look out for that indeed and I hope to help you improve your sound and approach to whatever future songs you will be creating and performing. :)

Nice, looking forward to it. Heal up well.

Thank you appreciate it

Such a unique and interesting sound and feel to this song, I really enjoyed it thanks and good luck!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81