Open Mic Week 10 - "Lost Cause" - an original song by Andy LoughneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic8 years ago

Hey Steemians!  I'm back with another original called "Lost Cause" for Open Mic Week 10.  So much talent out there...happy to be a part of this growing scene and thanks for the encouragement and platform to share some of my stuff.

I've always had this grand delusion of organizing the thoughts, poems, and writings from stacks of my notebooks into some sort of comprehensive art project, not to mention all the bits and pieces of songs I have floating around.  It seems like Steemit may be the place where I release a lot of it into the cosmos and it all kind of sorts itself out.  

LYRICS

I'm a lost cause living in forgotten space
don't tell me darlin you'll remember my face
unless you can tell me
the color of the wind
i'll be across state lines
before your heels dig in
i'm a lost cause living in forgotten space
 

i'm a traveler living on borrowed time
don't tell me honey there's a reason or a rhyme
unless you can sell me
a slice of the sun
i'll satisfy my urges
with some other one
i'm a traveler living on borrowed time
 

All that glitters sure ain't gold
better find some beauty in a warty toad
the secret's safe with you and me
grab some air now while it's free
grab some air now while it's free
 

I'm a seeker living with a worried mind
don't tell me baby you respect my kind
unless you can shower
some graces on me
i'll collapse on myself
till there's nothin to see
i'm a seeker living with a worried mind
 

I'm a manifestation of tomorrow's sin
don't tell me i should know where to begin
unless you can free me
from this bag of skin
i'm gonna ride my breath
to find the forces within
i'm a manifestation of tomorrow's sin
 

All that beckons sure ain't bright
better find some brilliance in a starless night
the secret's safe with you alone
cast away your heart of stone
cast away your heart of stone
 

I'm a gambler looking for one last play
don't tell me i can only have it one way
unless you can spot
what i've got up my sleeve
i'm gonna stonewall dissent
and regret my beliefs
i'm a gambler looking for one last play


~ Andy Loughney


Image and video hosting by TinyPic photo by @anarchrysalis
Sort:  

Any song with "living on borrowed time" is a good song hah. Nice. One of Lou Reed's song uses those lines. Like the guitar too.

Thanks @tfeldman! I'm gonna check out your latest entry now.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great song and please keep posting your work on Steemit!

Thank you! I am way into Steemit right now as a vehicle to organize and share years of accumulated artistic output in notebooks, voice memos, etc. Very excited and I appreciate your support!

Nice song, I especially enjoyed reading the lyrics, and hearing you play your lovely guitar. Best of luck to your entry this week. I will be entering soon, be on the lookout! Keep jamming and see you next week again as well :) Upvoted

Hey man, thanks much! Looking forward to your entry, I really appreciate the positivity in your flows!

You're very welcome. I'm glad you can appreciate the positivity, that's important for me to know that my music makes a difference, thank you. I plan to enter today. I'm pretty late but I am hoping to post it today.

I liked it!

Maybe in the near future we'll have a crypto / decentralized platform for music collaboration. Steemit albums made from a Steem-powered DAW?

That would be awesome. So many possibilities with this platform!

Andy, I love your playing style and lyrics. Good job bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52