You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Blocktrades + @Openmic: Steem Fest Giveaway - PART 2

in #openmic6 years ago

I know you're representing a number of parties (Project Giving, for example), but if you go to Steemfest, I'll feel that I, the individual blogger, will also be represented. You've always stayed connected to Steemians who appreciate your work. And your ideas about forming a creative writing community that will have a system of rewards sounds interesting.

Right now, as a person who likes to write creatively, I usually feel that such a blog is risky. Unless I write as part of a group, there's not likely to be an audience for my creative writing, no matter how good it may or may not be. So I default to more technical material--which I also enjoy very much. What you describe is an unexploited opportunity to attract creative writers. This can only make Steemit a more vibrant community.

The idea of compiling anthologies is very good. Writers like to think their pieces may have an extended lifespan. Anthologies would offer that possibility.

I hope you go to Steemfest. You're the kind of person who will turn personal good fortune into a benefit for everyone. Good luck, @raj808!

Sort:  

Thanks for your interesting comment @agmoore. I get exactly where you're coming from in feeling the pressure to write other articles because they pay better and that is what I want to look at addressing for sure. It should not be that way and honestly, it is easy for some people to say 'oh.. well no one wants to read poems or fiction', but that is not why tech and other tags get rewarded higher. Blockchain/development articles have utopian, video/vlogs have Dtube. Big accounts voting quality in those fields. Fiction/poetry needs the same, maybe Writcoin can be that mechanism :-)

What you describe is an unexploited opportunity to attract creative writers. This can only make Steemit a more vibrant community.

The idea of compiling anthologies is very good. Writers like to think their pieces may have an extended lifespan. Anthologies would offer that possibility.

I believe that it is an opportunity also and that it is entirely possible to attract other publishing entities and get them to disregard their usual First Publishing Rights criteria if I can leverage the system of value that a vote functional SMT like Writcoin could bring. To simplify it; if I can facilitate the rewards on posts for excellent steemit creative writing to be reasonably substantial and considered remuneration for inclusion in an anthology, then all that needs to be tackled is the costs of printing.

I believe as steemit grows and becomes more accepted in the mainstream, that many other publishers will be very interested in regards to the emerging market and marketing opportunity that it represents. I hope that it plays out like that, as then we as owners/investors in the currency (Steem&WritCoin) can make sure that fair partnerships are arrived at. Currently power is skewed in one direction.

Anyway, this is all just conjecture at this point. I am just excited to see if/how this can be made possible :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50