Steemit Open Mic Week #61 - Lost and Found (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago

Lost and Found

(verse 1)
Got her on my mind
'Cause I've been waiting long
To see you once again
Got so much to ask, so much to say
Where do I start and how do I.. ey hey
its been a hundred days ...

(pre-chorus)
With only flowers and letters and a guitar slinging,
Nothing to my name, but I'm still singing
'Bout half of my heart, that I've been missing
Searching past this sinking feeling
The stations empty, but I'm still sitting here
Wondering if she is ok...

(chorus)
Well now i'm standing in line at the Lost and Found
Crying my life away
Asking the man, have you seen this woman
Walking by this way...
Said no sir no, I got no way to help you today
So I called her up to say,
I love ya and I miss you so,
So, please come home today ...

(verse 2)
Where could she be, what is she thinking
I hope she's fine, I hope she's missing me too ...
Like I do..
I don't mind all the waiting
But I pray for that happy feeling, from so long ago...

(verse 3)
I hear people talking about this guy, he's been waiting
They say she's not coming,
but he's praying...
Looks like he could wait another hundred days

(pre-chorus)...

(chorus)...

(bridge)
It's a quarter to seven, another night
It's getting colder, I'm getting tired
Waiting on this feeling
Waiting on everything to be alright

Write another letter, tomorrows another life
Doorbells ringing, I turn on the lights...
And just like a dream... just like a dream

With flowers and letters and a guitar slinging
She standing at my door, she's singing
About her heart, that's been missing me
About her heart, that's been missing me....


@luzcypher, @pfunk, @openmic This is my entry for Steemit Open Mic Week #61

About this theme, Lost and Found..
Took a while to interpret this one and I went with a little story about a man waiting at the railways for his woman. He sings this song when she does not show up. He is lost without her and the only thing he can do is wait at the 'Lost and Found ' asking around for her, well singing about her everyday as he waits.
One magical day, while he sings about his hopeful life, she shows up at his door...
And they live happily ever after...
THE END

Sort:  

I wish I could upvote twice, you have emotionally connected with me.

Beautiful voice and guitar playing on top of a song about love and devotion. A perfect formula! Thank you

Please try to get your entry in by Friday. Thank you

  • The cutoff date for entries is Friday. The contest begins on Sunday and ends on Friday.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/what-are-the-rules-to-enter-steemit-open-mic-and-why-do-we-have-rules-anyways

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Shucks .. Thoroughly confused with my time-line .. Apologies @luzcypher ...

Awesome Songwriters entry, brother! Loved it, man! So glad you're here!

Minor technicality is that the dual entry for Open-Mic should have been for week #62, for which you would drop the second entry under that post when it comes out sometime on Sunday. Yeah, I know - rules kinda suck sometimes - but we gotta have em'... :-)

@passion-ground .. Thank you for listening ...
I completely understand and I couldn't agree more.. Sorry for the inconvenience, I got a little confused with the weeks. An honest mistake. Won't be in a position to enter this week for the open-mic.
So next week, it is brother.

I do hope my songwriter entry still counts though ... @luzcypher
Cheers :)

Your Songwriter entry very much indeed counts my friend! Thank you for being so understanding and no - it is no inconvenience at all - I just wish we were able to accommodate you better. That said, so next week it is INDEED... very much looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73