Steemit Openmic week 87 - Jolene by Dolly Parton (cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

I grew up on Neil Diamond, John Denver, Josh Groban, and Dolly Parton. That was basically all my parents ever listened to lol, but let’s just say now I appreciate it.

I hope you guys enjoy my version of the song, considering it’s pretty different from the original! Love you guys and thanks for all the support:)

F1811D44-6DDD-4040-A782-2AA2279960B4.jpeg

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene
I'm begging of you: please don't take my man
Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene,
Please don't take him just because you can

Your beauty is beyond compare
With flaming locks of auburn hair
With ivory skin and eyes of emerald green

Your smile is like a breath of spring
Your voice is soft like summer rain
And I cannot compete with you, Jolene

He talks about you in his sleep
There's nothing I can do to keep
From crying when he calls your name, Jolene

And I can easily understand
How you could easily take my man
But you don't know what he means to me, Jolene

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene,
I'm begging of you: please don't take my man
Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene,
Please don't take him just because you can

You could have your choice of men
But I could never love again
He's the only one for me, Jolene

I had to have this talk with you
My happiness depends on you
And whatever you decide to do, Jolene

Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene,
I'm begging of you: please don't take my man
Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Jolene,
Please don't take him even though you can

Jolene, Jolene

Sort:  

The truth if the cover is very different from the original, but in the same way I stay great, success in the contest, I thought a while ago to cover that theme with my Violin but for strange reasons I never did hahaha greetings

Hey thank you:) And you should totally still do a cover with a violin! I’ve always wanted to learn to play, but that instrument has escaped me lol.

Well I've done other covers if you want to go through my profile and see my entry to the openmic, you should learn to play it is never too late to learn a new instrument

Yes I’m definitely going to check out your work! And you’re totally right.... I need to start picking up more instruments for sure.

Nice one! Great pic of you too.

Hey thanks so much Luz!:)

good interpretation and staging

Excellent cover, Addie! Your photo is burnin' up my screen too! Beautiful performance, girlfriend!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Interesting pick of the song - love the execution! Really swirled it up with your own twist. Well done.

Thank you so very much:)

Sounds great, i love the cover.

addie i just love you!! look for you name in this week judges picks this week. I would absolutely love to get a track from you for the Steemit Artists Music Compilation Volume 5 https://steemit.com/steemit/@soundlegion/steemit-artists-music-compilation-volume-5-submissions-and-cover-contest-win-25-sbd-now-officially-open

I love this song so damn much and you absolutely killed it!!

Awww @soundlegion thank you so much!:) You’re the best! Yes I’ll definitely check out the steemit artists music compilation to see about submitting one of my original tracks! Love all the positive vibes here on steemit when it comes to the music. Thanks again:)

Excelente interpretación, muy buena canción. Te invito a pasar por mi Steemit y disfrutar de mi #OpenMic y si te gusta estaría muy agradecida con tu #Upvote

Saludos desde Venezuela, Nachy.

I cannot speak/read Spanish! Haha but thank you for the comment:)

Congratulations @addiesworld! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84