Openledger: Today I witnessed a digital bankrobbery... and I am a victim of it!

in #openledger6 years ago (edited)

Well... now that I sat down for some time, drank a whiskey (a good one) and had some help from some of my awesome friends here, I am capable of writing about what happened to me, today.

money-941228_1920.jpg

I write this, to make people aware.

I really believe that I am no idiot (at least most of the time). I keep my keys logged away, keep not too much of my cryptos in the exchanges and I regularly check the news about what happens and what goes on. I am far away of being a professional and there is a ton and more information that I have no clue about in the section of crypto trading. Still most of the time I think that I know what I am doing.

A friend of mine wanted to get some EOS and didn't know how to set it up. No ETH wallet and no clue. I advised him to use openledger.io and quickly logged in with my stick and password. Showing him how to do it. Of course without checking the news about Openledger.

@themarkymark wrote about the hack 5 days ago... but I was just too busy playing/trading Steemmonsters.

Not many news out there otherways:

https://www.financemagnates.com/cryptocurrency/news/openledger-dex-compromised-phishing-attack-account-activities-suspended/
https://bitsonline.com/openledger-domains-hijacked/
https://bitcoinexchangeguide.com/openledger-dex-domains-openledger-io-openledger-info-hijacked/

and apparently some tweets (I rarely use twitter).

When my friend was gone, to set up his account at home, I sat down before my computer, checking some updates, comments and discord messages I recieved during that time. When suddenly openledger started popping up messages...

robbery.png

Eos sold
Eos sold
Eos sold

I knew what this meant. I was hacked. I was robbed. AT THAT VERY MOMENT.
It's really amazing how quick you can get, while under duress. So I logged into bitshares, changed the key, set a new password and blocked the cheater out in blacklisting him. Then, while trying to find out, what to do next, I watched how the scammer emptied other accounts, what he apparently was doing for more than 6 hours straigt before.

OL.png

Here is his account:

https://cryptofresh.com/u/allah-iraq/

In total this account got about 500 000 BTS from his robbery tour. Perhaps some of the good hackers out there are able to track him. He even send out money to @blocktrades for laundering.

In total I lost 220 EOS today, just by being sloppy.
DON'T be sloppy dealing with your keys!

Telling you that I am the victim is wrong, though.

I am not a victim, I am responsible. I did not check the news. Do it! Do it! Just DO IT!
I am not a victim, I am blessed. Today I was down like I was rarely before. So much good and so much bad happened in my life in such short time, that it was hard to bear. Today seemed to be the climax of that crazy ride of the last 2 weeks. I cry very rarely. Today I did. But there were friends around, lifting me up, listening to me, offering and providing help. I will not list these people... They know who they are. I thank you all for having been there, when I needed you, sometimes even without much knowing me!

THX! THX! THX!

This community is awesome!

Pollux.One.gif

PS: If anybody knows how to proceed, what there can be done, perhaps even how to track down this fucker...
Let me know in the comments.

EDIT and PPS: ... and of course I called my friend NOT to set up an account for the moment ;-)

Sort:  

I sent you 50 bts.

Wow, this is unexpected. THX a lot. The more I believe this community to be completely awesome.

I've also sent you a bit of SBD that I had in my savings. It's not a lot but every little helps. It will arrive in 3 days.

Das ist echt heftigst was die Kriminellen da rausziehen - klar jeder hat Verantwortung für sich selbst, aber man kann ja nicht alles lesen und wissen, dafür gibt es ja ne Community die zusammenstehen sollte. am Besten alle ernsthaften Warnungen zu Hacks / Scams etc teilen, man sieht wie wichtig es ist - immer noch bisserl geschockt @pollux.one - aber das wird alles wieder gut!

Es ist ja tatsächlich wieder gut. Ich hoffe nur, der ein oder andere ist nicht in die Falle getappt.
War schon schockierend, trotz ziemlich heftiger key-Sicherheit soviel soschnell verlieren zu können.
Vielen Dank für all die Hilfe und Unterstützung!

Lieber Pollux, das ist gelinde gesagt sehr ärgerlich. Wo ich heute hinhöre, ich höre nur unangenehme Nachrichten. Von einem Kollegen habe ich etwas gehört, glaube mir, der hat so einen drauf gekriegt, er würde SOFORT mit Dir tauschen...
Ich weiß, das kann Dich jetzt nicht wirklich beruhigen. Würde es mich an Deiner Stelle wahrscheinlich auch nicht...
Von mir bekommst Du als kleine Unterstützung auf jeden Fall 100% - auch wenn das nur ein mikroskopisch kleiner Tropfen auf den ultraheißen Stein ist!

Jo... nu aber genug aufgeregt, war sehr nett Dich gestern wieder mal getroffen zu haben. Das nächste Mal Grillen bei mir!

Ich fand's auch klasse, und es hat dazu beigetragen, die auch bei mir vorhandenen dunkleren Wolken auf der Seele zu vertreiben... ;-)
Die Zeit mit Dir ist immer schön!

What a damn shit really!
But we wont let you down and will help as much as we can to make up for this.
Kind regards
Jan

Nothing to add...
THX so much for all the support!

Now that's really fucked up! I admit that i would never thought about the SSL certificate and domain theft. Every time i see secure and correct address - that's it.

Sorry my full upvote isn't worth much, but you still got it :)

Thx a lot.
Same for me. I knew it was possible, but I really thought godaddy was really a fortress.
Speaking of... steemit is godaddy hosted as well.

Viele von uns vergessen leider, wie real die Gefahr eines Hacks ist... Auch ich gehe manchmal viel zu "leger" mit meinen Keys um, wenn ich so nachdenke - klar im Moment habe ich nicht viel zu verlieren, aber man sollte stets aufpassen.

Ich habe richtig Mitgefühl mit dir, 220 EOS ist (aus meiner Sicht) echt einiges an Geld und es ist krass, wie schnell das einfach weg sein kann!
Ich wünsche dir alles Gute und hoffe, dass du den Verlust bald wieder drin hast!

Vielen Dank für das Mitgefühl. Inzwischen bin ich einfach nur noch sprachlos und dankbar wegen der unglaublichen Unterstützung die ich seitens der Gemeinschaft hier erhalten habe. Ich wünsche keinem den ersten Teil meines Erlebnisses aber jedem den zweiten Teil.

Ich hoffe der Artikel konnte den ein oder anderen davor bewahren den selben Fehler zu machen.

Das ist auch ein riesig menge zu mir auch!!

I suggest to publish all accounts who were robbed today and call everybody to help restore funds. I am among those who was a victim too.
My account crypto-crat. You may see it as well.

this is actually a good Idea, even if most will just open a ticket, which will probably be ignored.
On the other hand OL has a lot of credibility to loose. This was a quite big robbery and it is still going on.

Was ein Scheixx, ich kann mitfühlen.
Ich habe letztes Jahr im Herbst erst mit Cryptos angefangen und bin viel zu unbefangen mit der Sicherheit umgegangen. Fad alles wahnsinnig faszinierend und war vor allem davon angetan, wie einfach das alles geht. Einfach ohne irgendeine Anmeldung auf Etherdelta handeln. Super Sache - ich habe schon das Ende der Börsen wie wir sie heute kennen unmittelbar bevorstehen gesehen. Habe dann ein bisschen rumgezockt und innerhalb von Tagen aus 0.1 ETH 8 ETH gemacht.
Weil es so gut lief habe ich dann bei einem ersten ICO mitgemacht.

Was dann passiert ist weiß ich bis heute nicht. Plötzlich war meine ganzen Ether weg. Ich habe auch noch gesehen, wo es hin ist, dann ist es auf shapeshift versickert.

Seitdem bin ich viel vorsichtiger geworden und mag Stetem, weil man zumindest nicht so schnell an mein Steem Power kommt. Trotzdem ist das eines der größten Probleme für die Massenanwendung - weil die Leute es eben nicht gewohnt sind, dass es keinen doppelten Boden gibt - und das jeder für sich selbst verantwortlich ist.

Ouch, I only just found out about this just now as well. I am off to check my account!

Just DON'T log in via Openledger.io

I log in through bitshares.openledger.info is that one safe do you know?

It wasn't earlier. Just be careful and use https://wallet.bitshares.org which has NOT been compromised.
This was posted yesterday.

Please don’t access OpenLedger.io, OpenLedger.info, and Bitshares.openledger.info domains until further notice, as we cannot guarantee that these domains are entirely secure and are working as intended.

here: https://dex.openledger.io/openledger-dex-access-issue-update/

Thanks for that, I have set up a new account on wallet.bitshares. Grr, pesky hackers

bitshares seems to be safe

Unfortuantely there will always be crime when money is involved.

It might not help you out too much - but I guess the most important thing is that nothing happened to you or your close ones in personal. Material loss can be tough as well of course, but at least it can be made up. And especially with the help of the amazing community here, I guess we will be able to help you here!!!


Genug kluges Gerede für heute - gute Nacht ;)

Das ist sehr richtig! DANKE!
Viel mehr kann ich nicht sagen. Hat jetzt nochmal 2 Tage gedauert, bis ich wieder ordentlich schreiben konnte...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44