OSS Donations

in #open-source8 years ago

As promised, the liquid rewards (~900 STEEM) from Who is @furion? post are being donated to OSS projects. I have decided to pick one steem, and one non-steem project.

#1 - Busy.org

500 STEEM goes to busy. They have been doing fantastic job with busy.org, steemconnect.com and steem javascript libraries.


Image source

#2 - Antergos

400 STEEM (sent as BTC) goes to Antergos, an Arch Linux based OS. They are making Arch easier to use, and thus more mainstream friendly. I use it on my main workstation, where all the magic happens.


I spend most of my time here ^^

Big thanks to steemit community for making all of this possible :)

Sort:  

I love Antergos as well but I have experienced many times after a big update I got either kernel panic or some kind of Gnome bugs so I can't start it up anymore. So I switch back to Gentoo-based Sabayon (it's not cutting edge but very stable).
My new development environment: a Hackintosh and connect to steemd and cli through docker (thanks to @someguy123 for his instruction since I never used docker before).
It's absolute gorgeous if you have 4K monitor. Linux still can't match in term of scaling HiDPI

Totally true fact that I hate:

OSX might be better than Linux for software development :(.

We'll keep working on it....

BTW my recommendation to either of you if you do the multi-monitor game is a curved 4k TV to replace all of them. Also this is totally inspiring me to write up my ultimate workstation :D.

I gave away my rMBP a few months ago, and surprisingly, I am not missing it.
Sure, we don't have all the fancy apps, although for me personally, the ecosystem is totally sufficient.

I've been running Antergos + Gnome with 3 monitors without issues. Its not perfect, but overall I find it to be less broken than Ubuntu 16.04 LTS. The trick is to use LTS kernel, everything just works™.

Thank you for your support @furion
we need more people like you in this community <3

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That's really a very nice deed of you!

Its a great feeling when you can give something for causes you love.
Im now making a shameless plug for BOINC, a way to use all of that spare computing power to help science cure diseases and much more. Even better team Gridcoin are well represented on the BeyondBitcoin hangouts.

That's an amazing initiative!

I believe that the guys from Busy are changing the game here, so it's a great investment too

Thanks for sharing! Very good post, very interesting .. @furion Followed and upvoted! I'm new to Steemit, I invite you to visit my post, upvoted and follow me @Sandra16 Help me?

Great post !
I didn't know about busy and Antergos.
I'm currently with Manjaro wich is also an Arch-Based Distro. And I can possibly move to Antergos. Do you know the differences between Manjaro and Antergos ? I'm curious about that ! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58