You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ONO: Where does the money come from?

in #ono6 years ago

As I read more posts about Ono I continue to be more and more intrigued. I read the whitepaper a week or two ago, but honestly it was so long that I think I may have missed many of the most important points. I definitely appreciate your clarifying the monetization model being advertising.

So basically the coin price dynamics make investing in ONOT so that one can have more influence on the platform a no-go, but investing in ONOT so that one can advertise off-site items for sale the main idea. That's in contrast to Steemit where you buy STEEM to increase your influence on the platform and purchase from bid bots to get more people to see your on-site posts. As a crypto investor, I'm curious to see which leads to more price appreciation for the coin. As a content creator, I just want more people interested in my topics to see my content, so also curious to see which model helps most with that. (Will people advertise their Ono posts or will it be more traditional advertising leading to sales pages and websites?)

I'm also curious about how targeting will be done without selling user data. The reason FB gained dominance in the advertising sector was by being able to offer micro-targeting for ads. Remove that, and how valuable is each ad view? Or are we back to buying by category and blogs needing to list what category their readership is in?

I'm not expecting you to answer these questions at this point. Just sharing my pondering.

Sort:  

I think if the user base is strong enough, companies will just have to figure out that part for themselves. If a user is hitting a million views per day, I'm sure there is some company that would want to promote on that and just like with other platforms, if the company decides they don't want to advertise on a specific page due to content, they pull their ads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67