You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One photo every day: Suomumustesieni // Shaggy inkcap (80/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago

Shaggy inkcap is an edible mushroom, said to be excellent and fitting for cooking for it's asparagus like qualities. Although because it can easily collect pollutants like led or cadmium from its surroundings, it should be noted that it likely shouldn't be picked in near proximity of traffic or garbage dumps, where it often by chance grows.

Great share at @gamer00. These kind of plants are used by plant scientists to monitor the amount of pollution in a particular place or soil. Since they can easily uptake pollutants from the soil. A scientific analysis of such plant over time will give the amount of pollutant it has taken up. Also, they are used in remediation(soil remediation). To remove soil pollutants.

Sort:  

Excellent reply. Informative too. :) Btw. Leo loves studying biology in school, I noticed it when he started lecturing me about ferns, horsetails, mosses and clubmosses. I was astounded how much he can remember off the bat.

Do you have any idea how I could encourage him in this newly found interest of his?

Thank you for that.

I noticed it when he started lecturing me about ferns, horsetails, mosses and clubmosses.

Mostly called lower plants. I am happy Leo loves biology and he is doing well . And actually there are not so many professors specializing in this type of plant biology(lower plants), to the best of my knowledge.
I believe encouraging him in some of his biology discussions, biology homework and also, telling him how he could contribute to humanity by using those plants. Examples, as you have mentioned, these plants easily serve as phytoremediators. Phytoremediation (The use of plants to recover, redeem or make-fit again a polluted farm land or land of any use. His studying and deep knowledge of this area should ring to his ears that he can contribute to a green environment, reduce pollutant intake by humans and animals, using not so useful plants. Basically, what i can say is inspiring him in the use of this species to get a cleaner soil and or environment. A simple experiment is if you have a flower vase that has is contaminated with lead, planting these mushrooms on the flower vase, can redeem the soil in the flower vase. By the time the soil is analyzed after a certain period, the amount of lead might have gone very low. That is one solution to a problem.
I worked with Plant biologists in some of my research, that was how I knew much about this and some of my publications on researchgate is plant related. I hope i made little sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55