Chess Board - One photo every day (31/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago


DSC04421.JPG
Chess Board

It's funny that those little things are what define you.

I learned to play chess on December 25, 1980, I was 5 years old, and I remember it quite clearly.

Joaquin a friend of the family after the Christmas dinner, he gave me a gift a small magnetic chessboard, similar to this one and he taught me how to play.

Since that day I have played chess I have been in state competitions and I founded my school's chess club there in the 90's

Although I have some years that I do not play constantly, mostly because none of my friends play and my wife and family either.

Sometimes I play online, but I do not know, it's not the same to see your opponent face and feel the pieces in your hands

:P

The photo was taken with a Sony CyberShot DSC-W150 in auto Mode


What do you think Steemians?

Public OPED Project Announcement:

One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Campaña para hacer que el SBD sea listado en Binance]


If you wish you can see my previous works summarized by weeks in the following links

Week #1 (1/52)
Week #2 (2/52)
Week #3 (3/52)
Week #4 (4/52)


The motivation to start my own project #onephotoeveryday, comes from seeing the great work done daily by @gamer00, I am not a professional photographer but thanks to him is that today you can see a little of my life every day as well as my progress in the exciting world of photography

You can check out his work https://steemit.com/@gamer00, and say hello to him
If you like his work consider upvote and following him :D



Thanks for reading me
If you liked or it was useful, do not forget to follow me, leave me your vote and if you want you can buy me a beer

buy_me_a_beer.png

with this you help me a lot and I can write content of better quality in the future.

Sort:  

thats kool, i dont remember the day i learned chess but i do remember how.
I use to play checkers every night with my dad, he was brutal. i never won, ever. i would get so mad at losing i would always ask well what about chess, we have the peices maybe i can beat you at chess. he would tell me "once you can beat me at checkers i will teach you chess". I was so mad, i didnt think i would ever learn chess.
one day checkers clicked in my brain, all of a sudden everything made sence. not just how to play but how every move determied the outcome of the end game. from that moment (night/game) of playing checkers he never beat me again. it always ended with a draw or someone moving back and forth for an infinity loop (another draw).
He actually got mad a couple times, it was a strange feeling. after a couple days of stale mates in checkers he finally taught me chess, he wasent into chess like checkers and we played a couple times but that was about it. i suck at chess, i understand how to play but at bes i can think 3 moves ahead. checkers i kill at but i was playing it from a very young age, if it was chess at 5 like it was for you i wonder if i would be just as good with seeing into moves in the future as others.
Ever wantt o play some checkers let me know, i will forefit on chess though unless IRL with some drinks. then i can atleast enjoy a good ass wooping.
:D

I played checkers with my wife when we started the relationship, but truthfully she did it just to please me, after a while I just stopped doing it
:P

If that happened to me with chess, at the beginning I always lost, but one day just like you i do clicked and started to see the game differently.

Lol
I'm teaching chess to my niece who is the one who showed interest in the game, so far I have not let her win even once I want her to understand the game, If I let her win without effort, I think that it will not be beneficial in anything if I let her win without effort. Maybe your father thought the same way

About playing checkers sure, but I'll tell you even though I play chess a lot, but I'm not good at checkers
XD

I dont think the game matters TBH, its not letting the kid win unless they actually win. Not wining gives you the want to get better, if you win at everything without trying because your opponets let you win you never learn anything. Give it 5 years and your niece will be wooping ur ass at chess if you dont go easy on her.
:D
I think thats cute ur wife played checkers with you even though she wasent into checkers. just shows she was into you.

Magnetic chessboards are the best! They are so convenient.

yes it is good to have one always
XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45