You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One photo every day: Pinetree (214/365)

One great reason to own an older prime lens is the hard-stop on the focus ring at infinity. I've purchased cheap second-hand lenses for this purpose. Of course, I'm speaking from the Nikon world where the lens mount has remained the same for years. I am assuming such things are available for Canon

Sort:  

Right you are. I like working with old primes for that exact reason.

The problem with older lenses, I think lies within the fact that an ultra-wide prime for a crop sensor camera is a bit more difficult to find from those, since they were pretty much all designed for 35mm film cameras. (I know I might need to upgrade to full-frame already.)

Oh, and the older Canon lenses come with an obsolete FD mount. I'm not sure if there's an adaptor for that, but I have successfully used an m42 adaptor for those old lenses that came with an old Fujica ST605N I got from my father some years back. They are pretty nice lenses; Super Carenar 35mm, Fujinon 55mm & Super Carenar 135mm. Got some great photos with them too! :)

Ah, so I thought Canon had changed mounts... yes, and when I was shooting crop sensor Nikon I couldn't find anything wider than my 18-55 kit, not that I could afford in any case, and not a prime.

Rumors have it that Nikon will finally replace the F mount lens with a new line for full frame mirrorless... which I would really want. I guess Nikon would come out with an adaptor to let me keep all my current glass!?!

Should have mentioned... I like your photo. I love silhouettes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64