Dear Diary: I Just Missed Growing Fruits And Vegetables

in #onemealaday6 years ago (edited)

I had grown some vegetables before in our backyard before another supposedly a bakery was built and later turned into a store and then converted into my brother's house which was finally sold and transferred to my sister now while the owner off the lot was my father.

But I did planted some eggplants there which I even manually pollenize myself. It yielded an oblong-shaped small eggplant that my mother would put on top of a steaming rice. It is delicious eaten that way with some added viand or if you are hungry just some fish sauce will give you a satisfying meal, out of a backyard farmed eggplant.

Then I also tried to cultivate a yam grown in a sack of a fine pumice sand with an added soil. I let the vine crawl up our tall tree and it had it sunshine up there while below a big 4.5 kilogram yam was developing. It took about less than a year before it was harvested and I sold some to my neighbor.

Next was the Passion fruit or the "Granada " as we call it. I think it is similar to pomegranate and after my neighbor gave us some that I had made into a juice. I just fell in-love with the taste. I thought to grow the seeds and I managed to grow one vine so I even made a trellis for it so it could creep there. But after my father came home he begun to clear things out saying that it will be a snake lair. So my dreams of having a grenadine juice faded away. And I got angry secretly with my father after that.

The yam was my success as I had discovered that it can be successfully grown in a 90% pumice sand and soil. Then the eggplants because we managed to reap its fruits and getting satisfied and not with the eggplants of my father that he takes before it is fully matured to be harvested.

There was also red hot chili peppers which we use when we like hot sauces and dishes to be made. The leaves can also be used as an additional stuffing for grilling milkfish which is delicious as it was nutritious too. The leaves can also be used in other soupy dishes like the chicken stew with ginger.

Okras are the ones that I also planted nd they are just so easy to cultivate and will grow anywhere. I also had grown a guava tree but after my father again just keeps whacking its branches citing that our neighbor is annoyed with its branches going over the fence but our neighbor isn't complaining. To my dismay I pulled the tree to its roots because it will be just a useless tree without branches.

After my father just are interfering about my plants and also there wasn't much land to plant anymore around the house I stopped all my planting, since I am sick already too. I just missed growing stuffs around the backyard because it is so fulfilling come the harvest time. My mother even told me that I have a green thumb because almost all what I planted grew and got utilized by us.

Gif Source: FB Gifs

Sort:  

Wow you grew all that? Arnold @cryptopie, you! Need to start that up again - not only you're good at it (mom knows!), it's healthy for body and soul: gardening! Much less FRESH FOOD . I've gardened, mostly tomatoes, for a long time and would give anything for a green thumb! I have a GANGE-green thumb, HAHA. But I garden anyway, i love it getting your hands dirty and being out with nature, and eating from the yard is awsm. When I can grow something lol. Sorry about your dad's cranky-ness, whoa, I hope that has ended. if someone tore up my plants - :(. Speaking of tearing up plants, I've been thinking about, but unable to reply, to yr reply (tks!) to my last comment, lol, about plants that naturally increase appetite. I couldn't reply because I'm a big baby, and the inhumanity of it makes me so angry practically to tears. (but i hope u saw my upvote.) I had to think about it and will reply here haha: It sounds like your country is in a place where mine was a few decades ago, and the anti-drug (equally cannabis, so sad!) propaganda was SO strong, and we trusted our leaders and thought they were normal people, HAHA, and if you didn't have any reason to care about the issue the conventional wisdom was completely closed-minded. If one wasn't closed-minded by falling for the propaganda, they were silent for fear of not fitting in or being judged by others (adults in junior high), much less going to jail. Thank goodness minds are changing, it's the political b.s. and hypocrisy we are fighting here now. I hope change follows to y'all soon but - people are slow!
When I see images of some military destroying a field of crops, any crop, it breaks my heart - for the farmers first, and then for the brains installed backwards in my fellow humans. (Oh but if it's drilling oil, even if you gotta cause a few earthquakes fracking or blow off a mountaintop, God meant for us to have that dinosaur shale!) Those plants are no different than an eggplant - just a different use, in a life of different needs. And speaking of eggplants, that GIF - OMG. Very funny Arnold @crptopie!

Yes it is sad that my country had made cannabis a taboo issue and associated it with criminality.
From the moment that I saw that my father interfered with my plants I just stopped until I can never plant completely because of my disability. But I don't think that I can ever plant again though.

I understand. Only so much you can do. I'm very glad you do this. I'll bet you know why SBD is dropping. But I'm sorry sir, I cannot completely accept your answer: I'll bet money, and u can see in my wallet that that's saying something, that your chances of planting again are much higher than you think. :)

Hello friend, really cultivating our own food is really rewarding, it's good that you have such a prosperous land. God multiply your crops. The pomegranate is really delicious, here in Venezuela these plants abound. regards

How unfortunate that you lost your crops, planting the vegetables yourself brings many benefits, I hope better soon so you can continue with your cultivation @cryptopie

Hello dear friend, you really have a very fertile land, it is good that everything planted is marvelously, I live in an apartment and my husband likes to plant in pots, has managed to harvest, tomato and chili. but its size is small, I imagine that for lack of nutrients from the soil of the pots, the eggplant is one of my favorite vegetables, I like to eat it stuffed and baked in the oven.

I am ignorant of "granada" but my aunts have it in their backyard.
image.jpeg
My dad loves planting. We have so many different veggies when he was younger. We have plenty of coconut trees and always have root crops in our backyard. We have the small and big varieties of taro and the yam we call "baribaran". Don't laugh. Hahaha! I remember @sam-muffins told me her brother laugh out loud with my "baribaran" root photo: :-D
image.jpeg

Granada can be used to make a refreshing juice. I used to eat the seeds as they are crunchy. You have an awesome backyard there. I think that the leaves of that Taro can be cooked as a vegetable too. I never heard of Baribaran :)

No, the leaves of the bigger taro can be cooked only for pigs 😂 but "laing" is from small taro.
image.jpeg

Hello friend, I hope you have better health or rather, I tell you that aubergines are very rich in flavor and also infinite in the use of our body, here we prepare from aubergine sauce to stuffed eggplant pasta, the pomegranate is very beautiful When you open it, very tasty and also with many vitamins, hopefully your father will be interested in the homemade crops that give him food, and because they are at home, they do not carry many insecticides and have them at hand. Good friend, I hope the panorama improves, greetings @ crytopie

You have a green thumb fret. I used to remember my main task when I was young was water the plants. We used to have a jack fruit tree and roses, guava and kalamansi but my mom was the one who planted them. ^^

I love planting fruits. I once plant local apple at the front of my dad's house

Its so painful that you loose your fruit but don't worry, very soon you will plant a new one yourself

I hope you'll start gardening soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59159.54
ETH 2599.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42