A milestone achieved - I'm doing actual book illustrations

in #onchainart5 years ago

Greetings steemians
"Long time no see" seems to be my opening point for most of the latest posts here, but this time I think I really hit a record with being off chain.
Nevertheless I have a good reason for this. Two reasons actually:

  1. we (the family) have sold our apartment and bought a house near a small forest. Finally moved in (still lots to do unfortunately, but that's the way it goes I guess)
  2. visiting the last big book industry expo in my home city - cracow, I've managed to get in contact with Marek Zychla - polish fantasy author with already a few published books and he was looking for a new illustrator since his last one already has too much projects and can't keep up. Two months later and I'm doing a set of ten black and white illustrations (at evenings and nights... with day job, 3 kids and
    And also it turned out they want me to do the cover which I'm still working on...
    Hope I manage to deliver in time , wish me luck.
    And in the mean time here's one of the illustrations

Some process shots
If you're familiar with my work you know I like to go straight to inking phase, but this time I made pencil sketch before every illustration to avoid at least some of mistakes.
Unfortunately forgot to take a picture of the sketch itself, so here's a beginning of lineart already...

And done.... looks like I chose a drawing with the least process shots of all,
sorry... will post more after the book is finally published .
And please don't hit me over the head about using onchainart tag... not familiar with communities concept so far (but additional support is always nice if you ask me ;).
If I'm doing it wrong I promise not to make that mistake again.

Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Those drawings are awesome, your style definitely lends well to book illustrations!

Posted using Partiko Android

@juliakponsford thank you, I sure hope to get more book commissions in the future

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man you are working class art hero:) Congrats, the drawing looks amazing and i hope you will manage to have everything ready in time. Also you chose a reall cool community to post your works:)

@georgeboya haha thanks :) will try to be more active here

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Congratulations @longer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 71000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 72000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45