You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Onboarding: Low Hanging Fruit

in #onboarding8 years ago

I just joined 15 minutes ago and good lord, this is the most frustrating social media platform I have ever had the displeasure to visit. This post looks like MySpace, all I want to do is make a feed with topics not with users, and it should not take 30-40 minutes to read through a "new user guide".

Most people won't care about cryptocurrency and money, they want a transparent alternative platform to see news, opinions, information on topics they choose. Why would I want my feed clogged up with another user's interests that don't overlap with mine?

Sort:  

Steemit does have a different setup compared to the other social media sites, especially right now. It's primarily been a blogging platform vs the normal social media setup so far. Unfortunately the feed system does only allow to follow authors and not topics, but there are some tools that can provide that such as steemshovel.com (to search on multiple topics/tags) and steemwatch.com (which I'd not played with myself, but believe it will notify on new posts on certain topics.) Personally I'm excited to see where the busy.org project will go to make things have more of the standard social media look and feel. But I'll agree, searchability is one of the things Steemit is needing development in.

There's nothing wrong if it doesn't fit what you're looking for right now. Steemit is still in Beta and getting new features and UI elements worked on constantly. FB and Myspace didn't start off in their current forms either.

cool, thanks - I get the "network of users" approach; it's just that I seek out topics to read about, and I don't much care who posted them.

That's understandable. I know it's a feature many of us look forward to seeing on here. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44