You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Onboarding: Low Hanging Fruit

in #onboarding8 years ago

That reminds me some recent discussion on the chat... Indeed:

Give these new users the benefit of the doubt that they are here with good intentions! They have to start learning somewhere, just like we all did.

That cannot be said otherwise!

Sort:  

Hehe, I think that might have been me the other day in the TIL channel. But I totally agree, it's very important for our community to keep in mind.

I had spent a lot of time in the abuse channel, seeing all of the plagiarism and other abuse type posts. So I really do understand the other side of the coin where the first reaction is to 'go get em.' But in all reality is are the repeat offenders that deserve this, not somebody that is new or with a clean track record. They still deserve to be reviewed for issues, no doubt...but how we approach those authors (the new ones in particular) is important. Personally, I prefer to explicitly provide a comment of what the issue is, hear them confirm they understand said issue, and move on seeing if they do it again. Imo just about everyone is allowed one plea of ignorance.

I will openly admit I'm a rather steadfast optimist and prefer to give people the benefit of the doubt. But I have personally be in the scenarios where providing the info, or reasonable steps that can be taken (such as with verification issues) where typically those who are out to abuse the system are simply allowed to 'hang themselves.' (metaphorically)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65