You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Onboarding: Low Hanging Fruit

in #onboarding8 years ago

I'm a long trial user, I'm afraid.
I want to post more stuff, but I've been so lazy. The rewards are too small to justify the effort. If I was sure to make at least $10, I might post stuff, but it's such a gamble, even with 150 followers, that I can't be assed.

I still visit sometimes, so I haven't given up. I just need to wait until there's a 1v1 chat in place, and that might make this website much more community friendly.

Sort:  

I think you will be surprised how rewarding it can be personally to post something regularly. There are a variety of post styles, some of which don't require too much time and effort. I recommend picking a theme or a topic, maybe even something you like to photograph (iPhones take nice pictures) and make a serial post. I mostly write about living in Japan because this is where I live and it gives me things to talk about. Lately, though, I've also written two posts about the advice on life older people give. I want to continue this post as well. For me, finding these two ideas, and their formats, has really become a part of my daily thoughts. It's opened my eyes to the world around me a lot more. Anyway, posting is worth the time effort. I hope you'll give it a chance.

Until the price goes up more, I think I'll be more of a reader than a writer.
But yeah, I haven't really given up. I'm just on hold for now.
I gained a nice reputation and some followers while the site was gaining in popularity, so that should give me a boost whenever I wanna get hardcore about Steemit.

Nothing wrong with that. It's nice knowing that the sites here when you are in the mood for it. Def helpful to have the followers in place too for when the time comes. :)

That makes sense. In the context of this post, there are all kinds of users and it's nice to hear that the site still gives you a reason to come back and stick around. For me, even with all its quirks, Steemit is still the most straight forward way to self-publish and potentially make a little money. You just sign up and go. The readers are there, the platform is there, and there aren't many options to get slowed down by.

I'm totally with you! There's no red tape or restrictions to sign up and publish here, a major reason why I love this place. I truly look forward to seeing this place ramp up and flourish. It's an exciting time and great to be among the early adopters :)

I believe this is what is mostly going on. People need even a bigger incentive to post. I think once there is more reason to post , then user engagement should pick-up.

By the way, I don't know if anyone else notices ,but the quality of content for my reading pleasure is super high here. I'm very picky on what I read and I've noticed I've started to read other people's writing more and it's wonderful!

I'm def on the same page here. While I know I can get focused into certain areas (just because of personal interests,) I've found amazing content on here, even through today. Having the feed available definitely has made that a lot easier. Remember the days before the feed? Having to try and remember which authors we liked or trying to catch everything through the chat room? Whew...how far we've come!

I can definitely understand. You might check out the new short form posts like til , news and funny. Those really just need a couple of paragraphs. The ones I've done only took me 20 mins or so to create.

I'm with you on the chat function too. Hopefully between either site development or the busy.org project we will have that in the near future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65