Easy Korean Cold Cumber Soup 나는 오이냉국를 만들었 어!^^

in #omiedove6 years ago (edited)

This is one of my favorite Korean foods to make because it's so simple. It's sweet, spicy, and savory. The first time I made it, I didn't know I was supposed to eat the broth and that it was an actual soup. I grew up eating cucumbers in oil and vinegar and we just took them out with a fork, so I thought the broth was really just a seasoning or marinade. But, yes, this broth is eaten as soup broth and it's delicious and refreshing. :)

It uses "soy sauce for soup" which is a special kind of soy sauce I've only seen in Korean recipes. I've used regular soy sauce, too, and it was just as great.

Apple cider vinegar tastes so similar to rice vinegar and is an excellent substitute in this recipe.

I would like to have used some red chili peppers for color and kick, but where I live, there isn't much selection, so I was lucky to find jalapenos. Over the summer, my neighbor grew some variety of red chilis. They looked like the ornamental bush type, very small, growing in clusters, and very hot. (They burned my fingers when I cut them.) When I used this type, it gave the best flavor in my opinion. Maybe next time I'll try some dried Korean red pepper flakes for color and heat... see how it turns out.

The sesame seed is not optional and really adds so much flavor and is really a staple in the Korean pantry. I reach for it a lot since so many recipes call for it.

English cucumbers are expensive and go bad quickly. Regular cucumbers can be used, but if I substitute them, I peel the tough skin off and remove the bitter ends. Mini cucumbers taste just like English cucumbers and are a perfect substitute that I use regularly. I really like the look of the tiny circle shape.

In my video, I'm using a regular teaspoon and a tablespoon to measure because I hand wash my dishes and don't like to clean real measuring spoons. Plus, they fit awkwardly in my dish rack. I don't think it makes any difference and I would recommend seasoning it to your taste since people like different amounts of sweetness, saltiness, or heat.

I hope everyone who likes cucumbers will try this! :D

About me.

Sort:  

오이 냉채 정말 상큼하지요 맛있게 드세요^^

감사합니다!^-^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85