Farewell PyeongChang Winter Games

in #olympics7 years ago

For the past 2 weeks I have lived and breathed the 2018 Winter Olympics in South Korea

I am a Winter Olympics Fanatic and this year was no different, I found myself glued to the t.v. cheering for and against all sorts of nationalities. Except I am U.S.A. all day!
Whether it was Skiing, Snowboarding, Ice Skating, Figure Skating, Hockey, bobsledding or the most intense sport available - Curling...
I love it all

And this years Olympics sure showed the world how great the competition can be at the winter games along with the awe inspiring skills these athletes contain.
If I were to compare the PyeongChang Olympics to past events, I would have to say this was one of the best I have seen. It was intense, exciting, and new names were born into glory.
So, I wanted to make a posting to congratulate all the competing athletes, whether medaling or not, because you all were fantastic and we couldn't have had these winter games without you. I also wanted to recap some amazing moments that will be talked about for many future Olympics to come.

Mens Half-Pipe Snowboarding


By far the most amazing competition I have ever seen along with probably the most exciting and fantastic gold medal finish for the U.S.A.
Even the qualification rounds were literally insane. These snowboarders have some serious "EGO" problems which translated into an extremely competitive event. The top 3 in qualifying rounds just kept trying to best each other even though there previous run had guaranteed them a spot in the final.
We had massive spins, double backflips, and mad air - It couldn't have been better!

When the medal competition came underway, I knew I was in for a treat and the whole time I kept cheering for my favorite U.S.A. Boarder Shawn White. This guy was my idol growing up, back when I was a hardcore snowboarder, and when I saw him 4years ago completely fail at the Sochi Games, I knew it was his time to shine and show the world what he was capable of and he sure came to PyeongChang ready for vengeance.

Needing a near perfect run to make turn his current Bronze into Gold, Shawn exploded with dizzying height, insane twists and flips, and when he made it to the bottom without falling...
I knew he deserved that Gold!

PyeongChang Snowboarding - 10/10 - Best Event I have Watched


Women Figure Skating

That's our 15year old Gold Medal phenom prodigy from Russia - Alina Zagitova

When It comes to Olympic figure skating, I am all about those Russians, (sorry U.S.A. you just cant compete). Going into these games though, my eyes were set on the Russian skater who had debuted at the Sochi Games a mere 4years ago at the age of 14, Evgeniia Medvedeva. Now at 18 I thought she would blow the competition away... Except a new young Russian skater emerged that would make this Olympic Event one that wouldn't be forgotten

These 2 Russian skaters owned the Ice and the battle was apparently between the 2 for the gold. Although I still think Evgeniia Medvedeva should have taken the gold, Alina Zagitova had the performance of here lifetime and deserved it just as much.
These 2 women were beautiful and fantastic on the ice and the ensuing fight for the Gold made the 2018 Olympics one to remember

PyeongChang Figure Skating - 9/10 - Perfection at its finest


Ice Hockey

USA! USA! USA!

That's our girls! Taking down our Arch-Rival and evil twin sister Canada for the Gold!

In your face - Canada!

This year I give it to the Women Ice Hockey. Typically I don't watch women's hockey unless it is the Olympics and the 2018 tournament was some of the best hockey I had witnessed. This group of girls can play some serious hockey and it really was exciting to watch the intensity these games performed at - especially the Gold Medal game. This year was even more exciting due to the rematch from the last winter games at Sochi of USA v.s. Canada for the gold where Canada won.
Some USA redemption was needed

As for the Mens Hockey, it is always exciting but this year there was the NHL ban that went into effect... Booooo. Which completely set Russia up for the gold before the games even started.
When it comes to Hockey, a USA fan roots for Team USA AND... any team that plays against Russia or Canada
So when the Gold medal game came, I was all for Team Germany to make a mockery out of the Elite Russian team. Almost happened too, the Germans really came out to play! Anyways, it was a great finale to the Olympic tournament with such a high intensity game but ultimately, Russia took home the Gold.
Although Team USA played hard, Russia kicked our ass when we played them too, so I knew it would be a hard road for USA to make a medal. Without NHL talent, or a seriously formed Team USA (or Team Canada), the Men's Hockey was not as good as previous Olympics.
4 Years from now will be a different story

Women's Hockey - 10/10
Men's Hockey - 6/10



Even though Team U.S.A. received a low medal count, and the Hockey lacked NHL players, I would still rate the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympics a 9/10. The competition was simply amazing!

And now another 4 years will pass until the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics...
I'm curious on where Bitcoin prices will be in 2022? Maybe the next Olympics I will be able to afford the trip over to China to watch the games!

Farewell PyeongChang... the games were Epic!



all photos are found on google search, none of the photos are mine


~Keep on - Steemin' on~

@generation.easy

Sort:  

Never ceases to amaze me how much further athletes have pushed themselves every Olympics. Crazy how records are broken every Olympics and how something like men's ice skating has evolved from 1x quad jump to 6x quad jumps in a program. Definitely inspiring to say the least

Very true, the competition is top of the world!
The figure skating gets more and more intense each time. Like I said, those Russians are phenomenal

Its always a treat. I love watching people compete and realise their dreams, what could be better? I was pretty disappointed with our men's and women's hky results but our overall metal count was the second best and our largest metal haul ever..so I guess yeah we lost to the US women's khy team but beat yas overall 😝

Lol, I knew I'd get the interest of a Canadian ;)
The big hockey rivalry!

Canada had a great Olympics, you guys got tones of medals. 3rd in figure skating too which was a pretty amazing performance too.
It was actually the U.S. that came out fairly poorly.

Excellent sports, nice post, thanks for sharing

olympic is thw greatest platform to show our creativity in many sector

You got a 1.36% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @generation.easy!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Wrote about the Olympic Games, Nice to see your article sir... Your a pretty good person sir... keep going on and well done. have a nice day.

Skate on ice is my favourite sport to Olimpic games, good article nu promoting valuable content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66