Proud and Disappointed at the Same Time During the Olympics

in #olympics6 years ago

image

I was watching the Olympics last night (or early this morning) and the mens snow boarding half-pipe competition started. I was extra interested in this because of America's Shaun White competing. Shaun White is 31 years old and this is his 4th Olympics with 4 gold medals. This is considered to be old in this sport and most of the other competitors are around 17 years of age.

image

It came down to the last round, but he pulled out the big guns and blew everyone away!

I was really excited and proud! Well, until I saw this.

image

See anything wrong with that picture? To me, letting the flag touch the ground is just as bad as burning it. I was brought up this way and feel very strongly about it. It's not like he let it brush the ground momentarily, he dragged it along the ground even stepping on it.

image

I understand that he was extremely excited that he just won his 4th gold medal but he should have known better. He just drug it along the ground like his favorite blanket. #reallydisappointing

image

I guess I'm just really old school and patriotic.
What do you guys think? Has any of y'all ever even heard that you're not supposed to let the flag touch the ground? It might be illegal to teach kids stuff like that now a days.

Feel free to follow along with me on this Steemit journey, I have many stories I want to share with you! @bluelightbandit

image

Sort:  

That's a pretty loud statement he has made about how he feels about his country by standing on the flag and not respecting it. Many would see this as sacrilegious.

I honestly don't think he realized what he was doing. That doesn't make it right because he still should know better. If Americans are going to be representing America, then they need to know proper etiquette in regards to our flag.

Ya, that is pretty taboo for us old guys.
But look at a world cup game... The place is littered in flags.
Different forms of patriotism perhaps?

Different generations, it's a different something for sure. I personally just don't like seeing it.

Alumbiyat is a large cycle that shows the skills of their creativity
Greetings to you..

olympic is the greatest platform to show your creativity

that's pretty cool to know....

photography is a good friend, I like posting friend

wish i have those hands & keep upvoting such as this creative funny post!!
Thanks for sharing this..

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99