You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Down on my Knees

in #oldtimers7 years ago

Thanks for answering.
That is where are (perhaps) buying the solar fence from but they won't answer until Monday.
We could support the net by poles on each end I suppose but that just makes more to move.

Besides the predators from the air we also have to find a way to keep her inside the run before we can get more chickens. I put up 5 foot fences this spring to keep her out of the garden and she just laughed and flew right over it.

Sort:  

I would consider clipping her flight feathers. It won't hurt her and she won't be able to make it over the fence. I'd say the only way you could use a net would be to use poles. As you said, more work. Not to mention it would have to be a really big one.

How do you do the clipping?
I hold her and my husband does the clipping?
With what sort of clipper?
And when we get new chicks how old do they have to be to do this?

If you know how to do this could you make a post about it?

I'd be happy to. I leave for work in the morning and will be gone a few days. I'll do one when I get back.

But yes, it's easier with two people. One holds the chicken backwards under the arm. The other fans the wing out and cuts along the line where the flight feathers meet the next row of smaller feathers. Just use scissors. Eezy peezy!

I think I will wait until I see your post. Poor Lee was just attacked by a dog and lost a lot of feathers. Most seem to be around one wing. When she sits on the roosting bar she has her wings slightly spread so she may be sore still.

Ok. I grabbed my son to play photographer. The post is up.

Wow. that was quick. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56