OlaivArt Woman Contest Entry: Mother Teresa (Graphite and Charcoal)

in #olaivartwoman7 years ago (edited)

For the past few days I had been joining various contests here on steemit. It is very evident right? I really am so excited whenever I see new contests especially if it is art related. The prizes are always also great and it allowed different artists to be exposed in public! Do check these contests out.

For this moment, I will share to you my entry for *Traditional Art Contest by my good friend @olaivart. You can check it out here for this week's mechanics: https://steemit.com/olaivartwoman/@olaivart/olaivart-theme-i-woman-4-winners-4-sbd-each

Four chosen winners will win 4SBD each!

P_20171230_142344.jpg

Title: Woman: Mother Teresa
5 x 5 in/ Charcoal and Graphite Pencils on
Paper

Artist Statement:

As an artist, I am much into painting women and nature. I started painting at the age of three and then was my parents sent me art schools during summer. Somehow, I found my art style as a traditional artist. I love realism but somehow I am inclined to modern style.

I chose her as my subject because whenever I hear the word woman, it is always Mother Teresa that would pop into my mind because she embodied what an empowered woman is.

Before heading to the process, let us know who Mother Teresa is and why did she seemed to be iconic.
According to biography.com, Mother Teresa was the founder of the Order of the Missionaries of Charity. Their organization is dedicated to helping the poor. She has been an icon for compassionate care for the poor.

Mother Teresa resembles to some whales here on Steemit who are actually compassionate in reading posts and uses their delegations properly.

Process:

I will share to you a quick view on the process of how I came up with this artwork.

I made a border which is 5 x 5 inches. The area will serve as my drawing area.
P_20171230_134721.jpg

I am not a master copy artist so just bear with my work. Haha! I started sketching the face of Mother Teresa and the piece she was using. It really was an iconic item from an iconic woman in history. I know, the outline seemed to be very imperfect. It will be the task of graphite and charcoal pencil that would make this artwork look better.
P_20171230_135141.jpg

I started putting details using my 8B Mars Lumograph pencil on the left side of Mother Teresa's face. Smaller details will be made using graphite pencils because it is capable to give lighter shade of grey which is ideal for smoother the face and other features in human portrait.
P_20171230_140222.jpg

Fine details are not yet visible, but using graphite pencils, I shaded portions of her head piece and face.
P_20171230_141142.jpg

Before finishing the portrait, I decided to shade the background with 8B Pencil.
P_20171230_141551.jpg

I then finished my portrait for Mother Teresa by giving final details on her face using different shades of graphite pencils. Her nose is somewhat button-shaped so I made it that way by putting enough round shade on her nose. Her eyes are somewhat deep too so I put more darker shade near it.

She usually do not smile when taken portraits but her compassion never ran out.
P_20171230_142344.jpg

So there you have seen my traditional art entry for @olaivart. I hope you enjoyed my short tutorial. And I hope I would get better each and everyday through practice.

Have a great day ahead and advance happy new year.



Johanna Gail H. Tongco, or also known as @gailbelga, is a twenty four year old freelance artist and feature writer from the Philippines. She graduated Bachelor of Arts in International Studies and took up Masters in Public Administration, but she chose to work with various communities through art and a lot more activities. She uses her steemit payouts as a source of her donations on some chosen charities in her community.
Sort:  

I am very cool your drawing, I really like that you have your own style that gives a lot of strength to it. Good luck, greetings and hugs from Venezuela <3

Thank you. I am so happy you appreciate my work dear. I hope we both win.

great art work @gailbelga tutorial is nice. I wish i cold draw like this. All the best for the contest. keep sharing

oh thank you for the support @kamchore. I hope I would win this time. All the best for us. 2018 is fast approaching <3

you did a great job. all the best.

Oh Wow !!
You are good ! :-)

Thank you! I hope to get better next time <3

maganda at magaling....

Maraming salamat po

I hope you win anak. This entry of yours is really good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79