OKCash Finally Gets Some Love

in #okcash7 years ago

okcash.png

With all the new speculators entering the booming crypto market in 2017, I sometimes feel like an elderstatesman simply because I've been around this space for a few years. Not from an experience standpoint per se, but solely based on what I've seen in the few years prior.

I recently read a comment from someone complaining that XRP hadn't made a move in forever, only months after it's May 2017 all time high and subsequent pull back. I remember thinking to myself how less exciting price moves were back when XRP was under $0.01 for multiple years. I'm starting to think the new kids on the block have been spoiled. 😲

There's been so many compelling projects coming out lately that it's becoming nearly impossible to keep track of all of the promising platforms. No longer is the top twenty in market cap the only place to find viable investment candidates.

One such project I've watched for a couple years now, and been an investor of negligible amounts in, is OKCash. A very low key project built around a loyal community by a tireless lead developer and an army of collaborators.

Long after my small initial investment, but before I ever looked at a chart, my first cause for pause (in a good way) was the long term chart which showed two plus years of a (very) slow and steady ascent. While the majority of other coins are occasionally whipsawing from profit taking or pump and dumps, this little engine kept chugging along.

OKCash is a proof of stake coin. I love proof of stake, but I'm also cautious to ensure the coin is somewhat stable, otherwise staked earnings might be all for nothing. It looks like OKCash passes this test, and with approximately 6 months left to earn 10% before dropping to 5%, I like this coin for generating a little side income on my current (and future) investment.

So, what does it do, or what is it for? To be honest, I don't know if anyone could have answered that specifically back when OKCash was launched. However, what it has grown into is a rather popular gaming related coin being used more and more for in game payments. There was even an OKCash Minecraft server recently launched over at OKCash Games.

Besides development of OKCash and expanding its reach, the folks behind this coin are also responsible for the collaborative Rokos operating system for RaspberryPi devices and more. Run Bitcoin and OKCash on Rokos Core or run Rokos Flavors that includes a number of other wallets. (Dash, Blackcoin, GameCredits, etc.)

The best part, in my opinion, is what happened in the past couple of days. An influx of capital investments nearly quadrupled its market cap, and the OKCash leadership also announced a massive 2 million dollar marketing budget for upcoming expansion and growth.

I realize anyone who risks their hard earned fiat in any of these markets is considered a crypto speculator, but the amount of money recently invested dwarfs us small time enthusiasts by quite a bit. When this kind of money is dropped, I get the impression someone with a lot more to lose than me has some serious confidence in OKCash.

I tried to find a coin to fairly compare OKCash to, and the best I could come up with is GameCredits. If GameCredits is the corporate in game payments solution, OKCash is the more grassroots, built from the ground up version of the same thing.

I look at the influx of capital GameCredits saw earlier in 2017 and its current market cap, which exceeds the OKCash market cap by more than six fold, but I just don't see the same contrast in what they do, especially with the newly announced funds the OKCash team has available for expanding their business reach.

Savvy investors will say to beware of throwing money at something recently making its all time high, but if I'm buying for the longer term outlook (next 2 years), I can't say I would be surprised to see OKCash 5x or 10x by 2019. And don't forget, the stake percentage will beat any banks interest by a long shot for the next few years.

Disclaimer: I am not a developer, collaborator, or affiliated in any way with OKCash. While I may show a proclivity to add to my OKCash investment in my writing, please understand this is only my opinion and nothing here is meant to be investment advice. Please do your own research and come to your own conclusions.

Sort:  

Congratulations @starbird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @starbird! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @starbird! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37