Off grid living - Requires chopping wood to keep warm in winter.

in #offgrid7 years ago (edited)

chopper.jpg

Off-grid living using only solar power and batteries for electricity requires the use of an axe and manual labour to keep the wood burner going for warmth at night time in the winter.

Since I live in sunny Spain there are only really 3 months of cold weather a year, it's a great seasonal change and amazing exercise which makes you feel at one with nature. Humans have been cutting down trees and gathering wood, building fires for warmth and cooking needs since the beginning of time and it's great to do some manual productive primordial work in an age of technology.

Sort:  

Look into rocket mass or masonry mass heaters you will use a tenth of wood to heat what a regular wood stove uses and still get the exercise.

Thanks! I will have a look at those :-)

Welcome to steemit! I see you're a newer member and wanted to invite you to join a homesteading community that I belong to. If you're interested, I can send you the invite link.

Hi, yes please send me the link :-)

Hello @kaisertom. Thank you for your post on off grid living. With my passive interest in Earthships, and eco-friendly solutions, your post caught my attention during my time here on Steemit. Looking forward to more of your content on this incredible platform.

Hi @williamallerbe, thank you, I will be posting about my off-grid setup very shortly. Loving using Steemit and I'm recommending it to all my friends, family and colleagues.

A big welcome to you @kaisertom , Am glad to have you here on steemit. I've read alot of stories today on living of the grid. A nice one there. I can't wait to see all the lovely stuffs you'll be posting here. You welcome.

I just resteemed, followed and upvoted your post also,so that more people will see this post and support it too.

Please I need a favor. am in a design competition now, here is my design

and I'll really need your help. All you need do is to go to this link

https://steemit.com/contest/@steembay/the-big-steembay-contest-we-need-a-logo-startimage-win-50-sbd

And then check the comment section for the logo above, and then upvote the logo. My user name is @lucyc.

If you are good at designing logos, you can join the contest also. Thanks so much for your help.

Get your post resteemed over 90000+ followers and get upto $19+ value Upvote. Your post will skyrocket and give you maximum exposer.

Send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 30000+ followers and 1 upvote $1.5+ value.

Send 2 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 30000+ followers and 1 upvote $3+ value.

Send 3 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $5+ value.

Send 5 SBD or Steem with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $9+ value.

See our all pakages at:

http://www.whaleboostup.ml

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65