You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 6 lessons we learned when moving off the grid and what we would do differently!

in #offgrid7 years ago

Very good article. I plan to go down that rabbit hole within the next year or so.

Why don't you try using the compost heating method of Jean Pain of France, to pre-heat your household water before boiling/ bathing or keeping your outdoor water ice-free? You can even try burying pipes into a large compost heap or using heated plastic greenhouse air to circulate through with a CPU fan on a thermostat for heating the home.

I also love being creative and thinking out of the box to make things with your own hands. All the best!

Sort:  

I don't use the compost heat mainly because I have about a million items on my to-do list and there are higher priorities at the moment. When living off the grid, our basic needs come first; food, clothing, shelter, etc. As our domain starts to mature and we can play around with luxuries, that may be one project ... one day. I would most likely focus on a hot water envelope for our stove and building solar hot water heating array before I use compost piles for heating water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95