Going Off Grid Doesn't Mean Going Off Line. Staying Connected When You're in the Wilderness

in #off-grid7 years ago

Going Off Grid doesn’t mean Going Off Line. How else you going to make a decent income living in the bush?


Many people, especially me, wants to get of the city and have nice reclusive off grid home fully powered and online but surrounded by trees and wildlife on lake. You’d have neighbours, people living off grid not too far off maybe a few kilometers away is the nearest person. You might have to take a boat or fly in. True freedom, no cell phones or car horns or police sirens. Or maybe something less remote, it doesn’t matter.

It’s not that hard to have some of the most important amenities for our digital age anymore, though it’s not always cheap, it is cheaper than it was 10 years ago and better quality too.

Let’s take a quick look at what's caught my eye. I am planning to go off gird in the not so distant future. At place to escape from the smog and when the end of the world comes. It will be a fully prepared.

Satellite Internet

I need speed. To work from the internet I would need something that can handle a live video feed so I could do my job online. Satellite speeds can reach up to 25Mpbs which isn’t all that fast but should be enough for a small window live video chat and make some trades on the markets and keep up with world events and Steemit of course. Maybe even some games for those long cold winters nights. Not cheap and by the time I’m ready for it the prices will have changed and probably faster speeds too.

It’s not cheap to buy the equipment or pay for the service but it would be affordable because of the money you would save in many other parts of your life.

There are some development goals of reaching 100Mpbs in the works right now.


https://qz.com/772972/the-speed-coverage-cost-and-future-of-satellite-internet/

I have stumbled upon some other ways of being online when living in the wilderness but this one seems to be the most popular method and the power consumption isn't crazy high either.

How about HAM internet, talk about end of the world preparedness.

https://qph.ec.quoracdn.net/main-qimg-54ba390c4782bfd5bf09f3cd1734cfe4

I know there's some homesteaders here maybe they got another way that's working for them they can share.

Sources
https://www.canadasatellite.ca/Hughes-9502-BGAN-M2M-Terminal-2-Piece-p/Hughes-9502-Fixed-BGAN-Termina.htm
http://www.reviews.org/internet-service/best-satellite-internet-providers/
https://qz.com/772972/the-speed-coverage-cost-and-future-of-satellite-internet/
https://offgridsurvival.com/offgridinternet/

Sort:  

Successfully living of the grid while maintaining good internet speed has piqued my interest before, and now again with this post. I would be interested in reading what other info you find and what works for you!

I do want to start a homestead. Off grid is not imporant for it, but a big but. I want to generate as much of my own electicity as i can. Which is what my user name is base on. I'll be following you thought your journey. Because it looks like your going to get there before me, so I can learn from your mistakes.

No date set for me yet. Need the money for the land. I am still undecided on which power source to use, I'm leaning away from solar actually. Will keep you posted on my developments. ^^ thanks for the interest do share any ideas you have. I've been following you for a while already so feel free to drop a link in my comments if i miss a post.

Its always good idea to use more then one type of power source. Unless you have a really good one.

Gonna be trying solar/wind myself, I hope to have satellite internet in the remote location as well. will be starting to post soon. stayed tuned ;)

this is exactly the content i was hoping to find here! i came acrossed a comment you made on another post, saw your screen name and thought 'follow this guy! he knows where he's going 😉🤣 and i don't mind wandering around for awhile

Thanks man. I will follow you back too. Maybe with enough interest on steemit a bunch of us could buy several hundred acres of land in Canada near the top of Lake Superior and build a community for homesteading. That is the plan i got in the works.

this is a good read man, resteemed!

Cool thanks man. Following u now.

very good a nd unique concept:-)

I've never really thought about internet connection when living in a secluded location. The crypto attention economy may make secluded living much more viable too.

I used to think off grid meant complete detachment from the the digital world but it doesn't have to be you can control how to use and not use. It's nice to have the option even if you don;t use regularly. It's so easy to create lots of power from nature you'd have a surplus haha might as well use for something. I've been brainstorming about cheap off grid power options that's not solar power.

Even just visit a place like this for for a couple weeks or months a year would be nice too. I do love city live. That's where all the action is.

I'm out in the country, though not off grid. I have HughesNet and find it quite sufficient.

Cool im so glad to hear someone is using it and has a good experience. Can skype without breaking up?
Following you now

I don't know...I've never skyped before. My brother lives next door and skypes with his daughters. I'll check with him tomorrow and let you know.

cool. I am interested in real peoples experience. Steemit is awesome for that.

and followed, dont want to miss a good post.

Good old Elon might have you covered on this one!

That would be awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64187.97
ETH 3476.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49