Off Grid Adventures - What Can You Live Without?

in #off-grid7 years ago (edited)

DSCF4998[1].JPG

A little over fifteen months ago, I moved into an off-grid, solar energy home with my three kids. I had absolutely no idea what it would be like, I just knew that I wanted to live there because it was the best possible location for the kids at the time. The owners of the home, my friends and neighbors for over a decade, happened to move away at the exact same time that I needed to move. They were happy to have someone they knew and trusted living in their custom home, and we were grateful to be in a nice place that was also so convenient for us.

We started our solar journey on a lovely hot June day and quickly discovered that summer time was a period of rest for solar powered people. Steady and long lasting rays were keeping our batteries charged up with a seemingly endless supply of electricity. It was nothing like the dark months ahead, when managing power became nothing short of a part time job. So we settled in easily and soon got to know the ins and outs of solar electricity.

It was during these first few months that we started working out which electrical appliances were truly necessary. A solar home is not built like many standard houses, you will not find a large supply of outlets - you have to pick and choose what gets plugged and what goes off to Goodwill. Appliances with heating elements like the waffle iron and the toaster were out. The iron was out. No microwaves, lamps with normal bulbs, or air conditioning units. Our refrigerator was now just a tad larger than a dorm fridge. A dryer and a vacuum cleaner could be used but only with careful attention to amp hours, voltage and by switching out inverters. One appliance that I could not get by without was the nutribullet for smoothies and also for processing herbs. Luckily, that takes barely a charge to get it going.

In no time at all, though, we adapted to these changes in lifestyle. I won’t lie, giving up the iron was more of a Godsend, especially since my days in an office now resembled me in pj’s at my kitchen table. No more ironing! That was a celebration.

Not so much the toaster. At first I told the kids, we’ll GRILL the bread on our gas stove top! But nobody liked grilled bread. Apparently, that adaptation was beyond our genetic code. Thankfully, my brother bought us a little housewarming gift, a Coleman stovetop toaster. It’s quite a bit different from using a regular toaster, you have to stay with it and rotate often or your bread will go up in flames and in our case, setting off fire alarms you just discovered you have no way of reaching.

Staying with it has become a metaphor for solar living.

You don’t just set it and forget anything. You are on top of your electricity usage. And your water usage, and wood supply, the amount of propane in the tank, the condition of the oil in your generator, the amount of water in your 300 gallon tank, how much a pc draws in electricity as compared to a laptop, how much wood is needed daily to heat the house, the amount of snow sitting on your solar panels in relation to the gravitational pull, etc. etc. You are one with your power.

Solar living has made us more aware of our power usage and has taught us exactly what it takes to live off the grid. It’s a lot of work to be honest, but I’ve loved being here, the learning involved, and the level of awareness it’s brought.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, great post 😃
My family will be going off-grid within the next few years. We are in the building stage of it right now, my older kids(16son&14daughter)are an amazing help too!
Upvoted! 😊

That's so exciting #leemlaframboise Congratulations!

I really enjoyed reading your post! I don't live off-grid but have been learning off-grid camping and I definitely agree that "staying with it" becomes the name of the game. You really can't have anything be unattended. It's especially tricky when you have small children who like to just use things or turn them on, etc., with no understanding of the consequences.

And boy...that dryer does become such a luxury, doesn't it?! Let alone a fridge or some way to keep things cool. Dried and canned food certainly becomes much more of a staple.

Yes, I can see how having small children would be even trickier, I'm lucky that mine were 12 and up and really able to help and understand everything. My eldest at 15 is in charge of the generator and much of the electricity planning, I can't imagine doing this alone!

It's good to have big kids' assistance! My four year old asked me today if I wondered when she was a baby when she was going to be a big kid who could help out. It was a funny question and the funnier thing was I didn't actually think that when she was little - I was more interested in her just being able to do some things that didn't require me carrying her around. But now that she is becoming more and more of a help it's amazing how each little thing she can do makes a big difference.

That's so sweet, your little daughter sounds like she already has a good dose of empathy. :) And I remember the carrying days, too, at one point I had the twin babies and a 2 year old, but now I can't even piggy back them anymore they're so big!

Your blog has made me chuckle my dream is to live off grid also but I never took into consideration what it would take to do it. After reading your blog I'm reconsidering how ready I am to do this. I think I can but I like you too am going to have to really ready my family before I cut regular electricity off. Honestly I think the kids will have a fit lol. Thanks for the blog and Im going to follow you because the life style you are living is the one in my dreams. keep posting and Ill keep reading.

Thanks so much for the feedback, the kids are pretty much used to it now, they are so adaptable. And it was kind of a novelty at first for them. Their friends think it's cool, thank goodness :)

Enjoyable read. Thanks for sharing

Great post!

I am pleased to announce that your post has been featured in Max Curation Edition No. 12 published on Steemit.

You can take a look at it HERE.

Please resteem the Max Curation Edition so that all your followers also feel proud of you, and make it a point to visit your upcoming posts. Resteeming my post will also grant the curation effort more visibility. Thanks!

Don't forget to follow me so that you can receive the Curated Editions in your feed.

Congratulations and Steem On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59