Cleaning The Dirtiest Gun In The World...Seriously!

in #ocd6 years ago (edited)

Hello great people of Steemit! It's the Blue Bandito here with a bunch of pictures for ya! These will best viewed on a PC or larger screen just because of the detail, but you can still see all the muck on your phone lol.

The two guns pictured are both .40 cal pistols but are made by different manufacturers. The black one is my Beretta that was issued to me while at one particular sheriff's office. When they switched brands of handguns, I bought my old one pictured here. The other one is a Taurus and looks very similar to mine and belongs to a good friend of mine. In the 1980's Beretta sold one of their factories with all of the tools, machines and other goodies to Taurus and that's why they look so similar.

My buddy that owns the Taurus came to me telling me that he was having reliability issues with his handgun and wanted to know if I would take a look at it. This sort of thing is right up my ally so I was all over it like white on rice! I've got several years of training and experience under my belt so I was confident that I could fix his problem, or at least identify it.

Well, as soon as I took possession of it and locked the slide back, I said "Good God man, when's the last time you changed the oil in this thing?" It was Extremely filthy as you will see in the pictures. My friend said that instead of cleaning the gun, he would just spray a lubricant inside everywhere..... I stood there in disbelief and started to regret offering my services.

I don't recall how many hours that I worked on his gun but it was a lot. I put in way more effort than what he expected and also cleaned and polished things that would probably never be seen again lol, like underneath the grips. I polished several parts to improve the performance of the weapon like the barrel hood feed ramp, breech, locking lug, frame rails, receiver channels, bolt slide and safety plunger. In the photo' s, if you see me pointing at a specific point with a metal pick, that means that I polished that part.

My buddy was tickled to death when I delivered his gun to him and couldn't believe the price that I charged him. He said that it was in better shape now than it was when it was new. He's was actually right because I had polished those areas to increase the performance. I told him that friends don't charge friends for favor's and we will chalk this up as a favor. I also showed him how to break the weapon down and clean it properly so it wouldn't get in that type of shape again. He was extremely grateful and that made me feel good! The weapon functions flawlessly as it should now.

I posted most of the BEFORE pictures first.


.
.
.
AFTER
.
.
.

BEFORE

AFTER

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post! Feel free to follow along with me on this Steemit Journey as I have many exciting law enforcement stories I want to share with you! @bluelightbandit

Sort:  

Wow! Even filthy, it's a fine piece of machinery.
What a difference once cleaned!! Outstanding job.

Thank you, I was proud of my work.

I wasn't kidding when I said he was meticulous with everything he does haha! Here he shows the proof! Much like you with your plants!

Damn you made that thing look good again! No white give test?lol!

It would have passed a white glove test for sure lol. Sorry for the late reply, I've been sick for the past several days.

Hey man no problem. Hope you are doing better though.

For the first time I see cleaning the gun from inside
Thank you for making you watch such a wonderful thing

But you clean it for dead, is not it?

I dont understand the question.

Are you cleaning the gun to kill me?

hahahah

That was a lot of work. When you say "you know." You aren't kidding.
That is one of the hidden facts of life that isn't often thought of when we buy something. It certainly isn't advertised much at purchase time. The care and cleaning of what we had just bought.
I love for new things to stay new. But, that isn't the case most of the time.
You have such a knack and talent for taking care of your guns. You could do DTubes for a several times just showing how everyone should take care of the guns. Just a thought.
I know. More time that you don't have.
Thank you

Francis

I have thought about doing that along with other things but you hit the nail on the head with the time issue.

LOL that is nasty. Good job on the clean up.

Thanks man, nasty it was lol!

wow dude that looks like an entirely different gun! I cant believe how dirty it was!

Lol Dude, I couldn't believe my eyes when I took the slide off. He was really pleased with the results.

Requires patience I bet. My luck, I would lose a piece

It's actually therapeutic for me because I enjoy doing it most of the time. Although sometimes it can be frustrating like on this project here, it was borderline. Oh, and I have lost pieces in the past LOL

wow.....awesome post.I like it.
Are you a member of the security forces?

wow excellent .
i am shocked!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57