Why OCD/B

in #ocd6 years ago


The attention span of posts on Steem is fairly low, I realize how many oldtimer Steemians don't check out trending even if I were to have boosted the announcement post of OCDB up there. To my surprise when talking to people in DM's as their asking me about OCDB it seems that many still don't understand what the "non-profit" part means exactly. Some were even surprised to hear that you do get the curation rewards back of the SP you've delegated to it. So anyway I wanted to bring up a few points here again as to why users should delegate to OCDB or use it if they are in the whitelist or have a chance to be selected for it.

A big reason we aren't in a huge rush to get people to delegate to it is because @ocdb was just announced, we recently doubled the size of votes you can buy as the demand isn't that big yet and now we've been hitting a nice margin where the queues are small and the bot is giving out votes non-stop. This will be adjusted over time with a set return of 150%. Another reason we aren't pushing for people to delegate to it is because like I said, it's non-profit. If you want to delegate to it than that is fine.

The main reason why @ocdb exists is to help distribution of stake to quality authors. People might say that it's unfair that only a certain amount of authors get to be added to the whitelist but at the same time you could argue why only some authors are getting curated at all, it's about quality. Although we are going to work hard on adding more and more authors it is true that authors who already are doing quite well won't get added to the list - unless we deem their content to be of a high quality that if they were to ask we would consider adding them. The reason for that is that @ocd has for a year been curating underrated authors who are writing quality and original content on Steem. They deserve to grow at a faster pace than in our eyes than users writing low quality content and boosting their posts to trending with broken economic bid bots where you still end up profiting from the buys no matter what content you have posted. This is also due to downvotes being expensive but let's leave that for another post.

At this point you might think, hmm, if you are running a non-profit and you're offering nice return to buyers, why would people want to use other bid bots? Well, we are different in a sense that you have to prove yourself to the blockchain before we let you use our services. There will always be a need for the current bid bots, the question of how big that demand is is up to the userbase and delegators. People will use bid bots for marketing and other things and at one point we would like to see it actually costing advertisers to buy bid bot votes instead of them gambling on if they are going to profit from this a week from now when payouts are due.

At the same time we would want bid bot owners to become more competitive to keep their delegations. They've been profiting quite a lot from their "business" if you can call creating a bot and at the right time asking for a huge delegation from whales looking to max out their ROI and most of the time not giving a shit what their votes are being used on. (I realize there are bid bot owners that do care about this and have blacklists, etc, and I appreciate them working for their businesses). There will come a time where they are going to keep undercutting each other (if it hasn't started yet) when demand becomes low or users are looking for alternatives and our project is there to raise that bar.

We have been curating for a whole year already and have almost 3000 authors in our whitelist, you could go through it and select someone at random and 99% of the time it will be someone who is writing quality content (if they're still active). Not only have we raised the bar by offering a service that doesn't take a cut in any way, we are adding another layer of curation on top of the users that buy votes for their posts daily depending on the quality of them. Meaning these users writing excellect quality and already receiving 150% returns are going to be handed another vote raising their ROI. This will increase the incentives to write even more quality content and get these users to grow in a more reliable way. A strong DPOS blockchain is with a strong distribution and that's our goal.

There are alot more nice additions coming to both @ocd and @ocdb so stay tuned and I hope you enjoy what we are doing so far.

If you have read this far and appreciate what we are doing, consider voting for @ocd-witness as witness, thanks!

If you would like to recommend a great author you want to add to the whitelist, please do so in this post, you have time until Monday. :)

And if you have any questions or would like to state your opinion about this in the comments, I read all the comments and try to reward and vote them as much as possible.


Sort:  

In my opinion, and I've been thinking about this project quite a bit, this is an awesome initiative. I'm always thinking about the following problem:

There are many people who write good content but they go unseen because they are unable to raise themselves into the front-pages, in front of the eyes of the readers. And there are so many creators of average-to-low quality creations that it's practically impossible for the average Steemian, without some active effort, to meet these high-quality creators.

I always wonder then how best to create an interface that improves this situation. The possible solutions are plenty, but they require some effort. One of them would be a centralised front-page run by a team of curators, or a group of centralised front-pages and you just decide which curators you want to curate the content that you see. And another one is this, we don't simply select who gets to the front pages of each tag and gets high rewards, but we let those who we consider to be good to help themselves by giving themselves big upvotes.

There is a big debate about self-votes, but I think that big self-votes on good content should be promoted instead of rebuked as some people do sometimes. I also think that you yourself, Acidyo, have fallen for this debate. Sometimes I see that you have an excellent contribution to a thread, but there are 100 comments above, and you just don't like self voting so you comment and leave it down there for no one to see. Whenever I notice this, I give you a little bump for others to meet you, but I'd rather you also did it yourself if you think your comment deserves more views than the others (again, quality deserves rewards).

Overall, I think that the birth of this project gives a lot of thought to the efforts that have been made by curators such as Curie, OCD, TheSteemEngine, etc., and we should get together to build a platform that takes the best out of each side and puts it together. I'd be willing to help with that if necessary, as I know some things about website building, but let's think and talk over what needs to be done to further the advantage that we have gained with the addition of @ocdb.

You're right, a project like that would be amazing and I think @steemstem are on the right track for their own tags with that on their front-end. I hope the one @ned is building will be great for what you're proposing. As you said @ocdb is not so much for attention as it is for helping authors get started and grow faster than say authors that are only trying to write low quality content and still profiting from it. It's a long way until we start noticing the effect of these but the good thing about @ocdb is that the more delegation it gets the more authors and bigger votes it allows for them to place.

But yeah, what you're suggesting is something that requires a whole team of devs I think, hmm.

I think I could singlehandedly build a big portion of it hahahah. Maybe I'm overconfident in my skills. But yes, there would be a need for a few devs at least, there would be a ton of stuff to do, not just the backend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, we are definitely on this track but a bit stalled for the moment. We are trying to get investors (delegators) on board (and as ocdb, we are giving back (a significant fraction of) the curation rewards to the delegators) so that this could allow us for hiring a dev full time. For now, this is what blocks us unfortunately: no dev no new investor.

You have my vote long ago since you guys are doing a great job.

Just a clarification Acid. How can someone know if he's white listed? He receives a memo or something?

https://thegoodwhales.io

Been checking it for some time if I was already whitelisted too :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Here's the whitelist. Any author can Ctrl F and find themselves if they're interested:

https://thegoodwhales.io/index.html

And if you have gotten an @OCD vote, you are whitelisted automatically, so that works as some kind of notification, I guess. Some kind of solution would be spending around 5 SBD sending 0.001 memos to every one of the authors, but that's spammy, ugly, expensive and requires building a spambot (not that hard tbh).

Your bid will be returned if not, as quick a way as any I guess :)

Huuuh! You can send the bid to me and see if you're in my whitelist ;)

Sure :D

Pile on vote trailing @cryptosharon. Beeps

Let's vote on you to increase your curation rewards 🤗🤗 so much profit from one Sharon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Big upvote sent Mr ABH! Another vote is due when my VP recovers 🐱🐱🐱🐼🐼🐼

Posted using Partiko Android

See you in the front page!

Posted using Partiko Android

Did I just buy a vote? :D :D :D

Lol, I once joked about this same topic with a Turkish guy, he sent me money, and then he was mad that I didn't vote for him, so I voted to appease him. I have learnt my lesson and became a nice bidbot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Why the mad guy gotta be Turkish eh? :P

I knew you'd succumb to vote buying sooner or later!

Hahaha. Right...
I had to ask though :P

Yeah you get a refund, if you wanna check others if they are whitelisted you can do so on the website: https://thegoodwhales.io/

and thanks for your vote, I've noticed its been coming in for a long time now, much appreciated.

Damn...just tried it. Rejected.
Who knows...maybe some day😂🤘🏻

I don't know how I managed to miss all this. I only found out about the initiative acouple of days ago - I must have been living under a rock or something like that.

I really like the idea behind the project. There are too many undervalued authors on here that deserve to get some extra support.

I'm going to do some extra research before I decide to delegate or not, because I still don't get the concept for the full 100%. I joined the ocd Discord server yesterday, hoping to find some more info, but I didn't get much wiser. (Don't worry, it's not you, I'm just very slow when it comes to understanding projects and/or technicalities, lol)

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a few other posts that explain it a bit more, but fully non-profit basically means that delegators earn 100% of their delegation's worth. So you receive both the SBD of authors buying the votes depending on your stake compared to others delegating and the curation rewards of them too. Feel free to ask if there is anything else you're wondering that you don't find the info of. :)

Thanks. I'll do some digging tomorrow, and if something is not clear, I'll let you know :0)

Thanks for this @acidyo. I am lucky to have got on the whitelist already (but i did work hard for it!!) So far i haven't used the Bot yet as i have this thing against bots on Steemit. Let me see if i can convince myself. But thanks all the same for the opportunity

What can you say after you said this, it's simply best bid bot there is. It's great to see how you're going to create a healthy competition along the way. The whitelist is something that others should think to implement also. Besides the rewards you get back, the whitelist is a thing that I like the most!

EDIT: One question, how do I know when is my cooldown over to buy vote again, since it need to be 24 hours between buying a vote?

Thanks A LOT for helping out the community and people who have a good quality content!

So it's good bot vs bad bot.
Let's hope Steem prevails.

Lets do it for steem again!!!

Screenshot_20181026-065129.png

You got a 36.50% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @acidyo!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for our witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

I am somewhat new to this platform and obviously feel the same as many other authors of good content. Where is the equity in the present system. Well here it is @ocdb. When I look at posts and there is nothing more than a few words placed under a picture, but the monetary value has vastly outpaced the content value, I shake my head. I love the whole idea of a bot first determining the quality of the content the author creates before they promote an author. This is something I can get behind 100%.

Hi @acidyo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.888 which ranks you at #35 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83