You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Science is Mathematics

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

Although a Mathametician is not something which should be used to describe me, there was that one day when it was revealed to me how mathameticians think.

It happened on Morris St. in Halifax, Nova Scotia about 30 years ago. It had been my decision to hold off on calculus 101 until after my first year in Computer Science was over so as to give it my full attention during a 6 week summer course.

That six weeks ended up having me eating, breathing and living calculus.

On the morning in question a study mate and myself had just finished a study session. When walking towards Dalhousie Campus on Morris St. a car was coming towards me. It remained partially blocked from view by a telephone pole as we both moved in opposite directions.

My awareness came back to me after realizing that my mind was working on an approximation of the speed of the car by using an estimate of my speed and our relative distances from the poll.

It stopped me in my tracks with the realization that this must be what is going on in the average Mathametician's mind most of the time. 😎

Sort:  

An interesting story. I enjoyed reading it. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54