Weekend Recap ~ Market Days at The Porch Stand, Moving Forward

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

market 5.25 east close up.jpg

We had our full Market Days stand this past Friday and Saturday, where we offer a variety of goodies to buyers. I've sourced out suppliers for free range organic chickens and their eggs; of grass fed beef, lamb and ranch raised rabbit; local honey and hand poured goats milk soaps. Personally, I source our market pork products, purchasing full loins, which I butcher down into various cuts, or ribs, or whatever looks great and fresh. Bacon, artisan cheeses, salami of varying flavorings. As I've put out calls for local gardeners, but the response is small, I'm also buying up fresh produce and fruit, to fill out the stand. My small gardens are not even a thimble-full, and I knew I'd need supplements.

market 5.25 west overhead.jpg

We have bulk grains, for custom pilaf mixes, artisan, Asian and classic pastas and noodles, along with flavor bombs to go with! Almost like having a tiny part of Whole Foods in a tiny market in a town called Corsicana! Hey, I try! I do the canned goodies; as of today, the traffic is light, so we didn't need extras. I dream of the day when we do, and hope to see it real time, where I can feature many creators' products. And, the spice mixes in the apothecaries are my own design. Anyway...some weeks we do well, and others... bwah, wah, wah ,wah waaah

market 5.25 west bakery.jpg

Part of our focus this week was a fundraiser for a local cancer victim, whose wife is a friend of mine...not close, but we've done fundraisers together. My heart bleeds for hers, as they realize life's mortality, while still trying to do the best for their teen-aged kids. When the call is there, we answer it.

We didn't have the traffic I'd hoped for...we never do, it seems. As at times, I feel like I'm beating my head against a cold, dark wall, I know I've already invested too much, both monetarily and emotionally, to say 'quits'! "Goonies never say die!" is my mantra, for more than any one situation, any more!

What am I doing wrongly? I advertise like the others. I don't have a large 'circle'...that's always a huge problem in a clique-ish town. Which this town has always been. We do have a circle of people...some show up, my regulars are there always! The expansion is a trial, though! I try to stay positive, continue to send out invitations. When folks who've not been here before come, they're saying, "now that i know, we'll come back", and that's positive.

chicksn 5.22.jpg

These are my Peeps! And this is last week...this week, they've become a room pen terror! It's time for them to transfer to the coop, now. No, not now...yesterday! they'll be fine outside; it's warmer there than it is in my room, at night...yes, we do run the a/c. I could not do that caveman style, out in the woolies, living! No, thank you!

The "still shot" I tried was a fail...it's time to eat...we'll try again, tomorrow! I've got a few days off, except for watering, weeding,and such...I'm hoping to get in here, some more, in the next few! And, so, in the meanwhile, my friends, Steem on!

Sort:  

What you do is amazing! From the fundraising to the meal prep to the crafts and good! Keep your head up! ;)

Maybe I'll try Tweeting! What can it hurt?

Cant hurt nothing!

Oh gosh, I can relate. I've done farmers' markets, festivals, and craft fairs. When they go well it's a double plus - good money and not much to pack up afterward. When they're slow it's a double minus - little money and lots to pack up.

This was all before Twitter and if I was doing it now I'd learn how to use the darn thing and use that to let people know specials and things. Give a small discount to people who mention that they're following you?

Don't know if you've ever watched those food truck race shows? The people who tweeted did much better than the ones who didn't. Maybe your customers don't tweet, but some of them might and those are the ones who'd bring in more customers.

Your produce looks a-MAZ-ing! And fresh meats? And from your other posts you do prepared meals too? You are ready for the world to find you! I am going to have a little talk with God to send you some specific help and clear guidance for attracting happy, spending customers.

Thanks for the kind comments, and for the God request! I do Instagram and Facebook currently...I may have to do that twitter thing. It's free, so what can it hurt, right? I try to keep my internal ears open to suggestions from spirit, and I know that it'll all be okay. Frustrating sometimes, though. Maybe certain things at certain times...happy hour for fruities...something like that

I know zip about Twitter except that it's 'a thing' and good for marketing.
Happy hour for fruities! Maybe a punch card thing? (But that could be annoying if they didn't remember to bring their card.) Buy X amount and get X free or a discount on something else? When I sold plants I'd give a discount for buying 8 (I had carry boxes that held that many) and that helped sell more. Hey, maybe ask your good customers for ideas!

We currently do a drawing once a month, FB likes & shares gain entries, coming by to purchase is an entry, coming out in the rain is double entry! It like to storm on weekends, for some reason. I'm thinking a Wine & Cheese hour for Friday Market, with tastings...if no one shows up, I don't mind taking care of the overage! lolol. I've got my thinking cap on!

If I come through Corsicana I'll make sure it's on a Friday!

I'd love to meet you! I'm gearing up for our Saturday short market this week...have a couple of Bounty Basket orders that I've got to get together for pick-up. Have a wonderful weekend!

Since you're okay with the spirit and energy thing, I just remembered a little meditation that worked wonders for me.
First you imagine yourself and your business as a nice ball of light. Into that light you put all the reasons why people would love what you sell. Then you imagine all the people who would like to buy what you sell, seeing them as glowing balls of light too, like spread over a map. Next step is to send out rays of light from you to each of them and from each of them to all of the others - creating a web of light that connects you all. Bless that image and let it go to do its work in the real world. It's a fun exercise!
-- It is important to add the 'buy' part. I once forgot that part and had a little rash of shoplifting, people who wanted what I had but not to actually pay for it. :-[

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17