What makes normal normal?

in #oc4 years ago

Ever since I was a little girl, I have always been a little stubborn. I like to do things my way, and if things are not done the way that I like it, then I will often shoot myself in the foot and re-do something. This is just the way I am, and for me, that is totally normal.  

The other day someone posted a short quiz on Facebook and in the end, you had to choose a color and a certain object.  The results were amazing. I had my mother, as well as my two sons,  do the quiz and we all picked the same color and object. 

When my husband came home later, I asked him to do the quiz and he got a totally different answer than we all did.  

Here is a link to this quiz. It is quite amazing to see the result. It totally fascinated me and made me think about a few things.  

What is the difference between NORMAL and ABNORMAL?

                                           

This last weekend my husband and I had an argument about a puzzle that we were building. He wanted to start in the middle and work his way out, but I told him that it was not normal to do it this way. In my mind, you start at the edges and work your way to the middle.  

His main argument was it did not matter how you build a puzzle, or from which end you start, you will eventually finish the puzzle, and then zap, I saw his point.....  

Later that evening after everyone went to sleep I was thinking about this argument, and I came to the conclusion that normal for me, might not be normal for anyone else.  

So what exactly is normal?


Can the word normal even really be defined? I have thought about this very long and hard, and I came to the clear conclusion that there is just no such thing as normal and for that matter, abnormal should also not be considered as a word.   

                                      

According to the dictionary, these two words can in fact be defined.  

Normal is defined as:   

conforming to the standard or the common type; usual; not abnormal; regular; natural.      
serving to establish a standard.

And in psychology normal is defined as:   

approximately average in any psychological trait, as intelligence, personality, or emotional adjustment. 
free from any mental disorder; sane. 

Abnormal is defined as:   

not normal, average, typical, or usual; deviating from a standard:                 
abnormal powers of concentration; an abnormal amount of snow; abnormal behavior.

So who decides what is normal?

                            

                         

I really think that we need to re-think this......   


If our emotional state seems stable, does that mean we are normal? Most of us have our ups and downs, so does that mean we are sometimes normal and sometimes abnormal?

What is right for me, might not be necessarily right for you....


I was taught to be nice to people and to do things for others because it doesn't cost anything. Perhaps you might feel that you need to be rewarded for helping others.  Does this make me abnormal?  Nope, to me it is normal because it is and will always be the way that I do things.  

If you are defined as a normal person does this mean that society will accept you more readily because you act the way that they believe you should act?

A few questions come to mind:  

  • Just because most people are heterosexual, does that mean that being gay is abnormal? 
  • If one child colors in a picture with bright colors, and a different child only uses one color, does that make him abnormal?
  • If wearing black to a funeral is normal, does it mean someone wearing white at the funeral is abnormal?

It is a rather sad case actually, and we are not all the same. We just have to give everyone the chance just to be themselves. 

This is definitely not a case of "what is good for the goose is good for the gander" but rather a case of uniqueness and that we are all perfect in our own way. 

Whether we see ourselves as NORMAL or ABNORMAL  we are all just part of the daily struggle to make it through this life.    

My advice to everyone is to be as NORMAL as you can be...whether it is ABNORMAL for others.  Don't let society rule.  

Don't let anyone prescribe to you what is wrong and what is right.  Be your own person....


 

ABNORMAL IS SOMETIMES VERY NORMAL.....

 “Our lives are mere flashes of light in an infinitely empty universe. In 12 years of education the most important lesson I have learned is that what we see as “normal” living is truly a travesty of our potential. In a society so governed by superficiality, appearances, and petty economics, dreams are more real than anything in the “real world”.  Refuse normalcy. Beauty is everywhere, love is endless, and joy bleeds  from our everyday existence. Embrace it. I love all of you, all my friends, family, and community. I am ceaselessly grateful from the bottom of my heart for everyone. The only thing I can ask of you is to stay free of materialism. Remember that every day contains a universe of potential; exhaust it. Live and love so immensely that when death comes there is nothing left for him to take. Wealth is love, music, sports,  learning, family and freedom. Above all, stay gold.”   
  ―     Dominic Owen Mallary  


Image source 1,2,3,4

 

 

 

Sort:  

Congratulations @giantbear! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 95000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 96000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.304 which ranks you at #786 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 84 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I don't believe in normal too... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86