Cause and Effect: Are We Perpetually Unsatisfied Because of the Medias We Consume?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nwo6 years ago

Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle.
~ Lewis Carroll , "Alice in Wonderland"


brannon-naito-750262-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Brannon Naito on Unsplash


For Me It Started with T.V.

When I was very young I remember sitting on the couch with my brother chatting away during the evening "news." Once the commercials came on, we were mesmerized by the catchy jingles.

One in particular was a band-aid commercial (see video below). I am sure that we sang the jingle and it seemed harmless enough. Of course, we WANTED those band-aids. That's the power the the media's message.



Alpha children wear grey. They work much harder than we do, because they're so frightfully clever. I'm awfully glad I'm a Beta, because I don't work so hard. And then we are much better than the Gammas and Deltas. Gammas are stupid. They all wear green, and Delta children wear khaki. Oh no, I don't want to play with Delta children. And Epsilons are still worse. They're too stupid to be able to read or write. Besides they wear black, which is such a beastly color. I'm so glad I'm a Beta.
~ Aldous Huxley, "Brave New World"


fancycrave-169277-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Fancycrave on Unsplash


Was It a Simpler Time or Was the Message Always the Same?

I had a stay-at-home mother until junior high. We were raised on a steady diet of soap operas and Diana Shore gossip interview type of programs until my father stepped in and stopped, at least my brother and I, from consuming the unnecessary content. (I suspect that my mom spent long hours in her room to continue her addiction without little witnesses.)

Once both parents were out of the house (and I babysat my sister after school and during the summers for 3 years), my brother and I had the ability to watch what we wanted during the daytime hours. My brother could view the same movie over and over and over again....but I could not.

Gathering around the talking box in the evenings (no television during dinner, though) was a family event. And yet, by the time I reached my early teenage years I wanted nothing to do with the regular programming anymore. I had music to listen to, friends to talk on the phone with, books to read, poems to write, and sketches to draw. The same plot lines bored me and I wasn't bonding with my family. We were just viewing the same thing at the same time. Predictably, I rebelled.

karoline-soares-400145-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Karoline Soares on Unsplash

Titillation has always been there, I suppose. The story is the same just different decade or different audience. For me these days, I want to know the underbelly of the message. I want to turn over rocks to see the hidden agendas. It's like a puzzle that I want to find the pieces and put together. Don't you? Don't you want to know why people can have similar opinions, clothing and food choices though they live states apart? Why does everyone choose (not me) Starbucks? Is it because their coffee is the best? Really?


If We KNOW We are Being Manipulated, Why Allow It to Continue?

It's always been this way, and this way it will stay? Is that it? Is it easier to just pursue the next latest greatest gadget? What are we really saying about ourselves as we play the game the way the powers-that-shouldn't-be deem it to be played? What if we knew that others suffered due to our clothing choices. Is cheaper always the best choice? Do you really need another phone, plasma screen, or whatever the latest fashion trend dictates that you need? And when you have this thing.....how long are you REALLY happy?

As I get older I need and want less. I understand I am not the demographic that most fashion forward industries focus, though they would love my business just the same.


I think the question should be: What are your highest values?


Turn off the t.v. and look around you. Find you happiness in helping others. Being with others. Taking care of others. Once we realize that we will never be satisfied or truly happy by consuming non-stop, then the real lessons begin. By taking care of others is when we take care of ourselves. And you, my friend, are worth it.


Be well and God bless!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @yoginiofoz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you @steemitboard!

Are We Perpetually Unsatisfied Because of the Medias We Consume?

Some call me Mr. Silverlinings. No perpetual dissatisfaction here. Too much to be grateful for in my life.

Too much to be grateful for in my life.

Agreed.

Hello @yoginiofoz! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Hi @partiko, I didn't realize that I had 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed. I don't have a smart phone and do not use apps so you might want to pass those points onto someone else.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93