LIFE HACK - Vegetable Ice Cubes for Smoothies

in #nutrition6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7848.jpg

I have recently adopted the Keto Diet on a short term basis due to a relentless summer of too much alcohol and too much junk food. I felt there had to be a flip side to the fun nonchalant lifestyle I was partaking in.

I turned to smoothies for breakfast in the mornings and I am controlling my eating for lunch and dinner whilst doing away with the unhealthy snacks and drinks. Although this will only be until an assigned date, where I will loosen the leash on food items, but I believe I will continue to stick with the breakfast smoothies as they work great for my Tennis Coaching early in the mornings as I do not get full of food before jumping on the court.

For those of you of you that adopt the smoothie lifestyle I am sure you can relate to your kitchen turning into the local farmers market with fruit and veg everywhere, chopping boards and knives cluttering the counter and a huge clear up after..........and repeat each day.

IMG_7854.jpg

This is a picture of my kitchen and as you can see there is not much space to work with.

The fruit portion of the smoothie is easy as I chop up the watermelon and the berries come in nice packages which I condense down into a Tupperware container as the amount reduces. Adding the vegetables is the more time consuming part of the smoothie process and as I enjoy my ZZZZZZZZZZZ's I have tried to reduce the amount of time required to create my morning indulgence and allow for maximum amount of time in bed. This is where the Ice Cube idea came to me.

IMG_7855.jpg

One Sunday I decided to add a little water to the blender and throw in all the Spinach I had and blend it up into a liquid. I added this to some ice cube trays, placed it in the freezer and repeated the process for all the Kale I had. Not only did this increase the space available in the fridge but now I have an easy way of adding the vegetable portion to my smoothie every morning.

Here is a picture of the Spinach ice cubes

IMG_7848.jpg

I now add one Spinach and one Kale ice cube to each blend and Voila!! I am ready to go. Not only time efficient but space efficient too. I am yet to try adding Beetroot or Carrot to the ice cubes but that's an experiment for the near future.

I have tried adding Dandelion to the blend thanks to the recommendation from @enjoyinglife

I hope this hack can help you all enjoy a quicker and less messy morning smoothie.

Oly

#healthyliving #smoothie #diet #morning #tennis #curie @curie #fiveaday #protein #greens

Sort:  

Hey I am new to steemit, I came across this post and thought it deserved a like innit

Hi,
Thanks and welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71