HOW I went from OVERWEIGHT and DEPRESSED to FIT and HEALTHY in ONLY TWO MONTHS (BODY TRANSFORMATION) - DTUBE DAILY

in #nutrition6 years ago


Hello Steemians,

This story begins my freshman year of college where I was overweight and overall unhealthy. Being overweight was not fun and made me feel depressed and uncomfortable in my own skin. I didn't even want to take my shirt off in public places such as the swimming pool. I didn't know how to properly diet nor workout. I recall going to the gym like a lot of male college students do and doing chest workouts the majority of the days. This routine, along with an unhealthy diet, was resulting in NO results whatsoever.

The academic pressures and having limited access to a kitchen leads to a lot of unhealthy eating, which leads to weight gain. Even though I went to the gym frequently my freshman year, I still saw NO RESULTS by the end of my freshman year.

Going home for summer I was determined to find a way to improve my body and overall health. That is when I began researching workout plans and nutrition. After looking through many diets I decided to go with a diet known as the "keto diet." This diet consists of eating high fat, moderate protein and extremely low carbohydrate foods. When I say extremely low, I mean almost NO CARBS.

This diet works by forcing your body into a state of ketosis, which causes your body to produce ketons. In this state your body eats a lot of the excess fat; leading to rapid weight loss. In order to enter a state of ketosis you must eat less than 20 net carbs a day. A net carb is calculated by taking the carbs minus the fiber on the nutrition label for a certain food.

I worked out 6 days a week on this diet and did cardio every single day along with weighted exercises. This diet was by no means easy, but well worth it for me. I lost around 20-30 pounds in approximately 2 months. Although I lost a lot of weight, I also lost a lot of muscle, which wasn't ideal. After losing a lot of body fat, my next fitness goal was to gain lean muscle, which I did in the forth coming months by using a well-balanced diet and a new workout split.

Now I continually go to the gym everyday and eat clean. I have adopted a healthy lifestyle because I want to live a healthy and long life. I do occasionally eat dessert and other foods with little nutritional value, but I do so in moderation.

Disclaimer: I am not a nutritionist or doctor. The above nutritional and workout information was based on what worked for me and is by no means advice for anyone to try the same diet or workout programs I did. You should always consult a licensed professional before trying any type of diet or workout routine.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice to see this great transformation. Proper diet and hard work always pays.
I hope I can try out some of your routines.

Happy healthy lifestyle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48