The twins in blue

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, after the dinner, I worked on a new oil painting on paper (on a sheet of 200 gr paper in A4 size) about my Ladies. 

This time I decided to paint a sort of twins inspired by the famous photo "Identical Twins" (1967) by Diane Arbus. A curiosity: that photo inspired Stanley Kubrick for a famous scene in te movie "Shining". ^_^ 


One year ago I painted another artwork inspired by that photo where I used my "rounded-head" characters to represent the scene and it was my first artwork for the series inspired by the phtos of Diane Arbus. Yesterday I tought it could be interesting to paint the same scene using my new Ladies and I admit I like the final result ^_^ 

This is just an A4 size painting, but I'm thinking to paint something similar on a bigger canvas too. The main shade of colors in this painting is the Payne's grey, a shade of blue that I love so much and that I use very often in my artwork. 

I hope you like it! 

See ya soon 

Silvia


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Facial expressions are the most important way to express emotions, but sometimes face without expressions even express a deeper emotion.

[nTOPAZ-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.


Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

I totally agree with you, sometimes a face without expressions can express deeper emotion ^_^

Un ying yang es lo que me recordó esta imagen, muy buena . Saludos

Muchas gracias ^_^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I like this one. The concept of twin, similar and opposite, illustrated effectively. Lovely work, Silvia :).

Oh yes, the twins! I like how balanced they are, both complementary and opposite :) Very nice, Silvia, and I also like how you very subtly seems to differentiate the expression between the two. The one in the white dress seems to be looking at her sister, whilst her sister seems to be more interested in the world.

The detailing of those plants/flowerly stalks on their dresses are very pretty, too :)

I love this one @sliviabeneforti . I think what I love about your new series is it has a feel that anyone could plug their own memories into them. As their expressions are not shown we can all picture ourselves or family in them.

Here in the USA we have a religious group called the Amish that live without tech and much like it is the early 19th century and their dolls have no faces because in the Protestant bible it says 'man shall have no graven images' or some such. I used to see their dolls for sale as a child at fairs and I had one growing up. These make me think of them.

tengo un montón de ilustraciones ¿me podrías decir cómo etiquetarlas para que me rindan? https://steemit.com/art/@elpoetadelhongo/alienate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46