[CR]Needleworkmonday | Granny Squares

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0# Needleworkmonday | Granny Squares bag finally done!

I started this project two months ago. I promised I would not procrastinate with this one but sometimes life has a different plan. It turned out to still take two months to complete. I'm glad though that I took my time in doing this as the final product was just as I pictured it!

Compared to my bohemian bag project, the granny squares bag had more processes in the creation. The first process is the making of the squares itself. This process was the most tedious of them all.

Making the squares

As I mentioned when I first introduced thisproject some two months ago, I used this guide in making the squares. I pretty much followed every step on that guide except for the number of chains on the transition of each sides of the square. For some reason my squares gets a deformed square when I follow the number of chains in the instruction. So before I lose all my patience, I went ahead and tried to work around it.

I ended up making 34 squares for the entire bag.

Connecting the squares

The next step is connecting the squares together. This part was really exciting because this is where you get to see the bag get its form. I'm not really sure how the process was called or if there's a stitch name for what I did. But I just went ahead and connected the square from corner to corner. I picked two squares, then made the wrong sides face each other. To tie the corners together, I just made a slip stitch through the spaces on the corners of each squares.

From there, I went ahead and continued slip sticthes on each stitches all the way down to the next corner space. I first made 7 sets of four squares for the base and the front and back of the bag. Then I made 2 sets of three squares stitched together for the sides.

I then went ahead and stitched all the sets together forming the bag.

Cleaning up the ends

This bag is composed of 34 squares. Which means it has two end sticthes for each square. This is one of those repetitive steps that I don't really like. I think this is where I had to stop most of the time. Aside from the square making part, of course.

Making the bag handles

I rarely use shoulder bags so I don't really know how the bag handles for this kind of bag should work. But I pretty much know they should not be too long otherwise, I should've gone for a sling bag instead. And they shouldn't be too short it might as well have been a clutch bag.

I double yarned the handles to make them more sturdy. This may be the easiest part of the job as this only required 50 rounds of double crochets with 7 stitches for each round. I made two handles.

Attaching the handle to the bag

I originally wanted to just use my sewing machine in stitching the handle into the bag. But I ended up hand stitching the handle into it. I used back stitches for this. It looks machine stitched in front but looks like an embroidery stitch at the back. It is also strong enough to handle the weight that'll be put to the bag.

Reinforcing the base

I did not want the base to cave once I put items into the bag. So I placed three layers of cardboard glued in place at the bottom of the bag. I usually put our bed foams out in the sun on a monthly basis, I took this time to also have my glued cardboard dry up in the sun quickly.

And there it goes. Another two-month long project done. It was quite a journey for me. A lot has happened for the last two months and this bag sort of became a shock absorber and a way to take my mind off things when things get a little too complicated or too much to handle.

It's already done. Now, I am ready for my next adventure. I wonder what it could be this time.

Sort:  

How finest it is! So much efforts you made to work this. Detailed composed! So beautiful work. Thank you for sharing~

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. <a href=https://discord.gg/bycktuE%22%3EJoin nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks. :-)

Love your work, I am myself knitting and crochet, therefore I appreciate such work because they take a lot of time planning and counting every single loop, time consuming job but at the end wonderful result. Love it!

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thanks. It is indeed time consuming but really feels rewarding once you've finished the project. :)

Hello po idol, pwede po bang mag order ng coasters. <3

Haha. Shore shore. :)

You created such a beautiful bag - and so much work!!! You can be very proud to finish it and I do not find two month a long time. I am highly impatient with granny squares so that I never managed to finish something bigger which involved crocheting many tiny squares. But I so love how your bag turned out. Especially the slightly variegated green yarn is lovely.
Thank you so much for sharing <3

Thanks @neumannsalva. It was quite a journey. At some point, I didn't want to even look at my crochet box. But I'm glad I picked up where I left off every now and then until I completed the bag. I've used it twice, yesterday and today, and it was really fulfilling. ^__^

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thanks so much! :)

Relate in crocheting Granny Squares, lot of patience in joining and hiding the ends. Your yarn is nice, this is a light weight bag and spacious. Congrats with your hook off and parked...

Posted using Partiko Android

hehe. Thank you @jurich60! nangangati na naman akong mag browse for yarns sa shoppee at lazada. haha..

ahh doon ka pala bumibili ng yarns, di ko pa na try...

Posted using Partiko Android

yes po. Malayo kasi sa place namin yung mga bilihan ng magagandang yarns. So nagbabayad na lang ako ng shipping para hindi na ako mamasahe. ^___^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

thanks for sharing the process. Very beautiful bag.
@romeskie

Thanks @xeliram! Your needleworkmonday entry is really cute as well. :-)

The things that are made with love take long, but they are the most beautiful, look how beautiful your portfolio is, this beautiful!

Thank you for your kind words. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64866.50
ETH 2555.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65