A Lizard that is a Gymnast!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ntopaz5 years ago

IMG_8316.JPG

Ever seen a Gecko hanging upside down with his stomach exposed? Neither have I until today!

I stood talking to some laborers in the back garden early this morning, as they were digging a trench down the side of the house to open up a leaking water pipe. Some movement up on the wall below the roof caught my eye and I saw this little Gecko sitting there. A first time that I see a gecko of this color and where was his tail?
But something more astounding was to happen, as in retrospect, this little guy was waiting for the early sun to warm the wall. I was on the last of me camera's battery and I hoped that it would last for a few more shots.
A most astounding occasion!

IMG_8302.JPG

He must have gotten in a scrap with a bird or something, as his tail was gone!

IMG_8306.JPG

Then he slowly started to change his position!

IMG_8310.JPG

He was moving into a vertical position!

IMG_8314.JPG

And then, BOOM! He simply let go with his front feet and he flipped over backwards!

IMG_8315.JPG

Look! His back feet are still stuck to the wall and his legs are twisted over!

What an amazing site, as this little guy was warming his belly in the sun. Like I said, I have never seen this before.
The Gecko is about 25 millimeters in length and his body is built to support his weight. This was such an exciting discovery that I forgot about the low battery of my camera and it simply shut down.
I sped around the side of the house to go and fetch a charged battery, but had to wait at the front door as Marian was in the bath. Eventually I got the battery and you guessed it. When I returned the Gecko was gone.

I so wanted to get a shot of him in action when he flipped back to his original state, but it was not to be. Drat, he was gone. Most of us know that disappointing feeling don't we?
A missed opportunity to get a perfect shot spoiled for one reason or another. I've had hundreds hahaha.
Some of my shots could have made National Geographic if only, if only...………..!
But I console myself by saying that tomorrow is another day to get it right.

Just so in life as there are no failures as far as I am concerned. They are all lessons to mold us. To grow us toward a degree of perfection, but we have to understand that no human being can ever be perfect. There is not one that has not made mistakes, but we need to learn and grow from our mistakes. We need to identify our weaknesses, embrace them and turn them into strengths. This is my way of learning in life.
Think about it!

Thank you for the visit to another post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone</center

PHC-Footer-05.gif

steem verified!.png

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.

Thank you for your great support!
Blessings!

jajajaja excellent moment the one that you captured, when seeing the image I thought, this dead one!
the lizards for being of cold blood always go out to warm up in hours of the morning or finishing the afternoon, I have seen many doing it, but like this, never!

Thank you and it was a big surprise to see this little guy in action.
For a moment I thought he was going to fall after he flipped over, but his back feet was securely stuck to the wall.
Blessings!

LOL! Hahahaha, that's hilarious!

Thank you and it did indeed have a cute and a funny side to it.
One moment he was sitting and the next he simply just flopped over backwards.
Blessings!

What an amazing sight!

Hahaha, I want to catch him and give him a job in the Circus Joe.
Blessings!

Oh no, poor thing, sold to the circus!! Hahaha...

That is so cool I too have never seen one do that either how cool that you caught it
Pity you missed how it transitions back from that position

As fir mistakes I have made more than my fair share there part of life the key is to learn from them

Hahaha, I call it that "Drat" feeling JJ.
There's this crazy hawk here that zooms right over my head after the pigeons and I got him once or twice, but most times he comes from behind me and there's no time to snap him.
About 5 "Drats" every day, but I will eventually get him full on.
Blessings!

There is one eagle here that torments me I have seen it flying off with a fish but only either just as I am parking without the camera out or as I am driving away after a walk
Never while walking with my camera
Drat moments for sure

How cool is that!? Your pic shows he flipped over - perfectly! And sometimes less is more! So, I think your post is perfect as is!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you my friend, glad that you liked it and you are correct in saying that less is more.
Blessings!

Lol.

Pretty interesting and fun behavior.

Never saw this before.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend.
It was indeed a once in a lifetime sight.
Blessings!

Thank you my friend. It
Was indeed a once in a
Lifetime sight. Blessings!

                 - papilloncharity


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This is the cutest thing - what a great capture

Thank you my friend and it was a once in a lifetime sight.
Blessings!

Gecko species is amazing, acrobatic they appear everywhere. By what I understand much like the lizard, will shed the tail when escaping danger, which grows back. Rather lose a limb than a life! Witnessed male gecko fights in the house where one will drop his tail off and scurry away.

Should you have some time this is an interesting photographic portfolio online: http://www.tyroneping.co.za/geckos/hemidactylus-mabouia/

Thank you Lady Joan and I will have a look.
I can't seem to find a recent post of yours to support?
Blessings!

Hello @papilloncharity Beautiful photographs of Lizard.
Interesting post sir. thanks for share with us..
have a nice day.

Glad you liked the post my friend!
Blessings and thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60565.41
ETH 2347.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47