Realistic Portrait Pencil drawing - A Step Towards Achieving My Goal

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

Having created this realistic pencil drawing, I believe it is a step towards achieving my long term goal of creating a human-face like work with pencil.

ntopaz-image-0

For a couple of years now, I have been using pen more frequently which is favourite medium. I used to spend much of my time working with that medium without putting much attention to pencil works. And my pencil works are not that good as I had wanted them though non-artists would appreciate it a lot.

However, I know fully well that I haven't reached that level I desired to and I haven't sacrificed much time to practice pencil works in order to get the job well done.

So I made up my mide to put more effort. I would have done this work with pen, instead I opted for pencil. No I don't regret the decision I took.

  • Below are my development processes

Step 1

I skeched out my model with the help of grid lines using mechanical pencil. I took time to observe the work carefully before I proceeded to the main work
20190901_173808.jpg

Step 2

I worked from the left side of the work to the right side by adding tones and values.

20190901_173931.jpg

Here, I first shaded it with mechanical pencil, blended it and overlayed it with 4B pencil. Thereafter, I used 8B pencil to make it a little bit darker.

I used this process for other areas that have the same texture and tone.

Step 3

The above process was used here. However, for the eyes and eyelashes, I applied 12B to make it look very dark.

ntopaz-image-0

The introduction of eyes, nose and mouth made the work appear real.

Step 4

Initially I was considering using charcoal pencil for his suit though they stains and could destruct works when not properly applied.
ntopaz-image-1

But I used it and it came out perfectly as I had wanted.

Step 5

Finally I made a background for it. I faded the side close to my model and darkened the sides farther away from him.
ntopaz-image-0

Thank you for stopping by. I welcome anf appreciate all comments and suggestions.

Sort:  

Que detalle tan bonito el hacer un retrato, es una tarea bastante difícil recrear y perfeccionar cada detalle de su rostro y contornos, ya que se debe trabajar en la simetría bastante exacto, porque el mínimo detalle hace que la obra no tenga igualdad, en tu caso me ha gustado como trabajaste el rostro y como hiciste para que todo se mantuviera en armonía y bien simétrico, dando así al personaje su motivo de realismo y buen sentido critico. Muchas felicidades, es digno de admirar este tipo de dones que Dios te regalo y tu terminaste de desarrollar.

Felicidades.

Thank you so much for taking time to analyze my work. I really appreciate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing!, great work!!! 😀 ⭐️⭐️⭐️


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Greetings @maxwellmarcusart, I like your work and the one you are improving fills me with pleasure, to get to conquer our goals or objectives you just have to practice and love what we do and everything comes in time giving us the satisfaction of having achieved our goal. ;)

The details on the clothes, the lights and shadows and the gradient is very good and that can be seen in the final result of your work which looks realistic. <3 <3 <3

Keep working that you will soon achieve all your goals.


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are

based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



You can find out more in our Discord

Yeah practice makes perfect. I will keep practicing and giving my best.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great effort with very good result @maxwellmarcusart. You have good art technique and skill !
[nTOPAZ curator]

Yeah practice they say makes perfect. I will keep practicing and giving my best.

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Congratulations @maxwellmarcusart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000
You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98