Jupiter and Io (Detail) by Matthew Holden Bates

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

"Jupiter and Io" (Detail)

Oil on Canvas / ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

Following up on yesterday's Space Painting Post, here is another one featuring my Painting of Jupiter and its firey moon Io. Usually I paint things that I have seen with my own eyes, I like realism. So it is a bit strange to have to depend on NASA for imagery for any of my paintings. It is a leap of faith, one that most people take for granted, after all, you saw it on TV. Painting subjects that are literally "out of this world" is a different type of painting, almost spiritual. I dream of space like I think about religion, I have to relie on my faith to see other worlds.

Here is the painting in its entirety:

Jupiter-Gallery.jpg

"Jupiter and Io"

Oil on Canvas / ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

I hope that you like my most recent posts, I think that to really understand my artwork you need to see it up close, and since you are not here in my studio, this is the next best thing. If you would like to see more of my paintings you can follow me on steemit @matteopaints and visit my website as well. Upvotes and resteems are amazing and your comments always make me happy to be here. If you would like me to see your artwork, leave a link and I'll check it out!

Limited Edition Prints are available from CURIOOS so if you want to get a great Giclee print and help me out with the bills, click the link!! :)

A presto, Matteo

Sort:  

first time i see space in painting. you make this really awesome. perfect colors for Jupiter. Good work.

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. Join nTopaz Discord Channel

Thank you!! It is always important to paint what you arte passionate about. I have always been a big Science Fiction Fan. I wish I could go out there to see this for real!

I really like what you have painted and how you have placed the planet in space, I can not tell you that colors are good because I do not know the planet as you. But if it is not that color then you created a new planet, it is not bad at all either.

Certainly be used to painting something that you are seeing with your own eyes to go to paint something that may not be so, sometimes it is complicated, because the result may not be what it should be and you are not happy, if it is something that exists but you have not seen! (Trust in the media, news, social networks and other things that are not yourself is difficult). But if it is something that you want to create, you decide how perfect it is according to your wishes.

Your study must be great.

Greetings Matteo!


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Well said! Trust is a big issue also in art, I guess that in the end the artist must go with their instinct to interpret their subject. Thanks for your comment!!

Certainly! I imagine that with your experience you are seeing the things you do wrong and little by little you are fixing them. :)

Thanks to you! your drawings are wonderful although I have not seen you active lately.

The colours are beautiful and lively :) I like how you captured the soft patterns of that iconic Jupiter's surface, as well :D And I love the contrast with which you established the orbiting moon's hard-edged definition against the giant planet's cloudy atmosphere :D The moon really looks like it is floating! Absolutely wonderful illusion <3 Love this one a lot, Matteo :D

Yes the moon does look like it is floating, I also think that the clouds on the surface of Jupiter seem to be influenced by the moon too.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83